Imitation 2021: Good! Could Have Been Better

Seen a movie just because it has short episodes and you can just binge watch it within a short time?
That was the reason I didn't hesitate to download this series for a binge watch. And I actually thought it was going to be a series about robot acting human seeing the title "Imitation" but I was so wrong.

You could say they got me curious when I started the series to find what it really is about as I didn't get the chance to read it's storyline before deciding to see it. Another reason that got me seeing this is series was the male lead Lee Jun-young who starred in the most recent series "The Impossible Heir", I wanted to not see him in the bad light as I did in that series.

MV5BNTE5YTMxN2MtNzRkNC00OTQ1LWI4YWItNzlmNDlmYWZlOWRhXkEyXkFqcGc@._V1_.jpg
Image from Imdb

"Imitation" is a 2021 Korean series showing the life of Idols, how hard they work to become one and how harder it gets to keep being one. The series featured Park Ji-yeon as La Ri Ma and three popular music groups like Shax, Sparkling and Tea Party with other characters that played roles in showing more into how it works in the industry of entertainment.

I'll start by saying the series is a good one, the storyline not only show the life of idols but also suggest better ways to treat idols especially the trainees who are struggling so much to be stars someday. In the series, problems are created and solved, there is comedy and good chemistry between music group members.

But for me, there was just little chemistry between the lead characters. At some point, I even began to think the series had only one lead which is the member of the Shax group. What I mean is, the female lead could have been any other person, definitely not Jung Ji-so or maybe any other person would do same because of the character she had to play.

I just think the storyline or the character that played Ma Ha could have done better than they did. I also find some other characters roles kinda slow and almost annoying, kinda didn't fit in well with the storyline but other things covered that up well enough as I still had a good time with the series.

I can't express enough how much I enjoyed the last presentation made by all the music groups including La Ri Ma, a song that I think concluded the series in the perfect way to show the essence of what the viewers had seen so far. While I wouldn't want to change much about I've seen in this series, it isn't what I'll want to see again.

I love music a lot and I tend to download many because of movies I've heard from, this series didn't get to that point where I liked any music enough to have them downloaded and so I'll say, it isn't up to 50% for me. The fashion is a 100% and I am so curious to see a few characters again in other series but definitely not the female lead lol.

In all, it's still a good series and won't take much time to see but I'm not recommending it as highly as I may have with other series. This one is a 7/10 for me. Other reviews I've seen says otherwise though so maybe you might enjoy it more than I did if you decide to see it.

20240101_094050_0000.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center