Review: Third Person [También en Español]

This post is both in English and Spanish, puedes ir directamente al español dando click AQUI

1.jpg
Source

Continuing my search for unusual films, I came across Third Person, a film directed by Paul Haggis, who is famous for winning the Oscar and for being the subject of many allegations.

The film's stories take place in three cities. Its cast does not go unnoticed, as we find Liam Neeson, Mila Kunis, Adrien Brody, Olivia Wilde, and James Franco, among others. Each of the characters struggles with their demons, seeking (presumably) to find meaning in their lives. As the stories progress, unexpected connections between the characters in each story are revealed, creating an intriguing emotional puzzle.

Liam Neeson's character caught my attention. He's a writer haunted by a supposed past. It had been a while since I had seen Neeson in a movie where he wasn't shooting or fighting. In the end that character made me conclude that the film was worth watching. Mila Kunis delivers a visceral performance as a single, irresponsible mother struggling to survive. I liked her performance, I would say it stood out a lot as did Olivia Wilde who played the girlfriend of Neeson's character. Wilde's character is another one that leads you into situations that surprise you.

Adrien Brody plays a somewhat duplicitous and shallow American businessman who falls in love with a gypsy woman and borders on the absurd for that endeavor. James Franco, I saw a character without strength, but it must be because this actor is like Nicolas Cage, they do not transmit anything; it is my appreciation. Despite these characters with ridiculous attitudes, they are memorable for their humanity, for their flaws, which made me feel authentic. Maybe I'm contradicting myself, but it's the film that brought me to this.

The best thing about the film is that it is visually appealing, capturing the beauty of Rome, Paris, and New York. The music effectively accompanies the different emotions.

The pacing of the film is deliberate, allowing me to immerse myself in the emotions of the characters. Although I can tell you that I found some moments slow, but surmountable. So much so that I was captivated until the very end.

The ending of each story left me surprised, which made me conclude that I can recommend it to those who like emotional complexity. In my case, it managed to convey a message to reflect on the human condition. It is not perfect, but its cast manages to save it. In my opinion, it is worth watching it just once.

All rights reserved. © Copyright 2024 Germán Andrade G.

Image edited using CANVA.

It is my responsibility to share with you that, as a Spanish speaker, I have had to resort to the translator Deepl to translate my original Spanish content into English. I also state that I have used the grammar-checking tool Grammarly.

Españól

2.jpg
Fuente

Siguiendo en la búsqueda de películas poco comunes, me topé con Amores Infieles. Una película dirigida por Paul Haggis, famoso por haber ganado el Óscar y por estar en la mira de muchas denuncias.

Las historias de la película se desarrollan en tres ciudades. Su elenco no pasa desapercibido gracias a que nos encontramos a Liam Neeson, Mila Kunis, Adrien Brody, Olivia Wilde, James Franco, entre otros. Cada par de personajes luchan contra sus propios demonios, buscando (presuntamente) encontrar un sentido en sus vidas. A medida que las historias avanzan, se revelan conexiones inesperadas entre los personajes de cada historia, creando un intrigante rompecabezas emocional.

El personaje de Liam Neeson me llamó la atención. Es un escritor atormentado por un supuesto pasado. Tenía tiempo que no veía a Neeson en una película en donde no estuviera disparando o peleando. Al final ese personaje me hizo llegar a la conclusión que valió la pena ver la película. Mila Kunis entrega una actuación visceral como una madre soltera, irresponsable, luchando por sobrevivir. Su actuación me gustó mucho, diría que destaco mucho al igual que la de Olivia Wilde que hacía de novia del personaje de Neeson. El personaje de Wilde es otro que te lleva a situaciones que sorprende.

Adrien Brody interpreta a un empresario estadounidense algo embaucador y superficial que se enamora de una gitana y que raya en lo absurdo por ese empeño. James Franco lo vi con un personaje sin fuerza, pero debe ser porque este actor es como Nicolas Cage, no transmiten nada; es mi apreciación. Mucho a pesar de estos personajes con actitudes ridículas, son memorables por su humanidad, por sus defectos, lo que me hicieron sentir auténticos. Tal vez me esté contradiciendo, pero es la película que me ha llevado a esto.

Lo mejor de la película es que es visualmente atractiva, captura la belleza de Roma, París y Nueva York. La música acompaña de manera efectiva las diferentes emociones.

El ritmo de la película es deliberado, permitiendo que me sumergiera en las emociones de los personajes. Aunque les puedo decir que algunos momentos me resultaron lentos, pero superables. Tanto así que estuve cautivo hasta el final.

El final de cada historia me dejó sorprendido, cosa que me hizo llegar a la conclusión de que la puedo recomendar para aquellos que les gusta la complejidad emocional. En mi caso logró transmitir un mensaje para reflexionar sobre la condición humana. No es perfecta, pero su elenco logra salvarla. En mí, opinión, vale la pena verla solo una vez.

Todos los Derechos Reservados. © Copyright 2024 Germán Andrade G.

Imagen editada usando CANVA.

Es mi responsabilidad compartir con ustedes que, como hispanohablante, he tenido que recurrir al traductor Deepl para poder llevar mi contenido original en español al idioma inglés. También, hago constar que he utilizado la herramienta de revisión gramatical Grammarly.

Stickers Varios (1).gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center