Fast X (2023) || Movie Review.

IMG_20230612_173827.jpg

Enchanté my readers! 😂. It's Dante writing to you all. Ahem, sorry, it's me.

When are we going to end this franchise because I am getting tired of seeing more sequels coming up. When I heard that 'Fast X' would be in theaters this year, I literally rolled my eyes and decided I wasn't going to watch it. I want to be done with this franchise but I think they have a way of pulling me right back in. How?

Upon discovering that Jason Momoa (My Crush) was going to be the villain of this sequel, I Immediately changed my mind about not watching this movie. I wanted to see Jason's performance and I wanted to see the chaos he was going to cause. But, I will be honest, I had low expectations with the performance of this movie because I was like what have we not seen in the previous installments?

We have seen Dominic cheat death, we have seen their fast car defy the law of gravity, we have seen the dead come back to life without plausible or factual explanations. I mean I was beginning to think that this franchise was turning into a fantasy, paranormal and a superhero movie instead of the original based genre which was action and fast cars.

Without wasting much time, let's talk about this crazy sequel. There are these sayings that says; "Old stuff will pop back up to test you, don't slip" and "What happens in the past is in the past, but don't be surprised if it come back and haunt you". This sequel is an allegory of the quotes above. There is no way around it because the world we all live in is a small round ball that keeps moving until it's back where it started from in the beginning.

"Fast X (2023)" is a thrilling action movie that was written by Dan Mazeau, Justin Lin, and Zach Dean. It was directed by Louis Leterrierand distributed by Universal Pictures. This movie is the eleventh installment in the Fast and Furious franchise. It starred Vin Diesel alongside an ensemble cast including Jason momoa as the antagonist, Michelle Rodriguez, Tyrese Gibson, Chris "Ludacris" Bridges, Jason Statham, John Cena, Nathalie Emmanuel, Jordana Brewster, Sung Kang, Scott Eastwood, Daniela Melchior, Alan Ritchson, Helen Mirren, Brie Larson, Rita Moreno, and Charlize Theron. The story of this installment revolves around Dominic Torrento, whose past came back to haunt him and his loved ones.

IMG_20230612_175009.jpg

IMG_20230612_175059.jpg

IMG_20230612_175151.jpg

If you have been following the Fast and Furious franchise from the first installment, you should know from which sequel Dominic's enemy came from. It all started with Candyass aka Roman (Tyrese Gibson) when he received a mission for his team from Mr Nobody to steal a computer chip during its transit in Rome. Without actually verifying the source of this mission, Candyass brought the mission to the team for them to carry out with him as the team leader. Then I knew all chaos was going to break loose because anything that concerned Candyass is always confusion and chaos.

IMG_20230612_175319.jpg

IMG_20230612_175406.jpg

IMG_20230612_175459.jpg

Dominic, gave his team members the permission to go on this mission but without him and his wife (Mrs Alpha). Unfortunately, Dom received an unwanted guest, Cipher (Charlize Theron) who came to his doorstep almost dying to warn Dominic of a war coming to his family. Later on, Dominic couldn't reach his team members in Italy and then discovered that the mission his team members took was not authorized by My Nobody. Something was smelling fishy.

IMG_20230612_185902.jpg

IMG_20230612_175542.jpg

IMG_20230612_185927.jpg

Immediately, Dom left his son in the capable hand of his sister Mia and left for Rome with his wife to get to his team. Unknowingly for them they were actually walking into a trap the psychopathic Dante Reyes had set for him and his team. Who is Dante? Why is he hell bent on destroying Dominic and his loved ones? Will Dominic survive this vengeful, psychopathic antagonist? You have to watch the movie to know.

My Review And Rating.

I didn't expect this movie to draw me back into the unending circle of the Fast and Furious story. I was actually done with the franchise because it was becoming exhausting to watch. But then I couldn't resist not seeing Jason's performance in this movie. I was impressed with his performance. I didn't expect he was going to play and connect with his role well. From the look of things in the movie he enjoyed and had fun playing his role.

All the mannerism and personality he brought into his role seemed believable and natural. There was no force. Yes his role was a caricature but I feel that is what this franchise needs. In the previous installments we have had tough, brute and serious villains but Jason as Dante just brings a whole new vibe to the story making it look fresh with expectations of juicy stuff coming up in the future.

Though, if Jason's role was written to be a serious villain, I think his impact will be more harsh and brutal. Then the story of this movie will be pushed a little bit to the aspect of gore or more bloody content which I don't know people would appreciate. So I think Dante was perfect the way he was written. Fast and Furious needs a little bit of Crazy and annoyance in its world, in my own opinion.

The storyline of this sequel holds a lot question that I need genuine answers to, no lies or goofs😅. The answers to the question I ask will make me watch the next sequel of this franchise which I am anxiously anticipating yet again.

The director of this movie did a fantastic job with the scene arrangements, action scenes arrangements and the stunts. My favorite scene is the Rome scene. That scene kept me on the edge of my seat. It went by so fast that everything happened so fast that I was trying to catch up. I must say Dante is a crazy guy! 😂. Lots of knots fell out of his head.

The location of the movie is fantastic and amazing, especially the view of the Vatican city. The storyline is interesting, entertaining and engaging. It has a moral lesson that says, be careful of what you sow unless you are ready to reap the fruit without complaints. I look forward to seeing what Dante has up his sleeves and the plans he has for Dwayne Johnson.

The Cast are amazing, especially the antagonist. He actually made this movie enjoyable and entertaining to watch. The soundtrack was good and excellent for the movie. The cinematography and visuals were clear and attractive to the eye.

Rating this movie, I will give it 4 out of 5 stars. If you haven't seen it yet or you are reluctant to watch, go see it now. It will be a fun experience for you.


All images above are from the movie screenshots

Poster image source

Thank you for visiting and supporting my blog 🤗

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now