"The Little Mermaid" by Rob Marshall: A New Take of the Classic Little Mermaid

Intro

We all knew that the animated Little Mermaid was a hit and even today I still find it entertaining to watch whenever I see some clip of it on the internet. We all love the characters of Little Mermaid, especially of course Ariel and the ever-dependable Sebastian (I just love Sebastian a lot). Sebastian's loyalty to Ariel and to the King is unmatched. Aside from Sebastian, there are also Scuttle and Flounder and of course, the character that we came to hate, Ursula.

Narrative

The narrative of the movie is built around the dramatic, musical, and dangerous way of life of a mermaid who is obviously unique and wants to do something out of the ordinary. The movie shows how a dream can come true through sheer force of will while making someone's life interesting with each passing day.

Thoughts

In the early part of the movie, Sebastian makes his first scene (image below). I must say that the animator did their job in making Sebastian very very real. Sebastian's way of talking also takes a nod to the original Little Mermaid. There's just something in Sebastian that I love very much, his no-no-nonsense way of life is just amazing. Well done for the scriptwriters.

The movie immediately establishes the perennial concern of King Triton (image below), which is Ariel being a rule breaker who loves to collect human stuff that she is keeping hidden in a secret place that she only knew. The movie immediately introduced the daughters of King Triton (image below). These are the kinds of scenes that make me very interested in the movie.

Sebastian's job is immediately apparent as he is sent by King Triton to look for Ariel. Sebastian's role is to look after Ariel so that she will not get into harm's way, good job also for the script.

The scene on the shipwreck is amazing especially when Ariel is pursued by a shark while Flounder is with her. King Triton forbids Ariel from going to the shipwreck but still, she manages to sneak into and collect human stuff that she kept in a secret place.

The musical part of the movie is good but I honestly do not like all of the musical parts of the movie since they make me bored. The underwater effect is also great because it looks very very natural.

The scene on the galleon is also amazing, which is actually what I am looking for when it comes to ocean scenes especially when there is a storm.

It is also a good thing that the movie included some funny scenes specifically the scene between Sebastian and Scuttle when Sebastian was telling Scuttle not to tell to the king that Ariel came into contact with a human after she saved him from drowning (image below).

I actually got bored in some parts of the movie but when it was Sebastian's turn to sing I came alive again. The scene of Sebastian singing is just amazing. The animations while Sebastian was singing were also phenomenal.

It is also great to see Sebastian being the Sebastian we came to know from the animated movies. The scenes of Sebastian and Scuttle going to the place where Ariel is staying in the castle are also entertaining.

Did I just say entertaining? I must reiterate that the scenes of Sebastian, Flounder, and Scuttle are always amazing and make the movie alive because I tend to get bored with some parts of the movie. I also never thought that Eric would let Ariel drive the carriage.

While Ariel was driving the carriage actually made me at the edge of my chair I thought they would have an accident and then they would be grounded to go together but it didn't happen. Instead, the movie pivoted into a scene where Ariel and Eric danced with the locals.

The scene where the two rode a boat also made me on the edge of my seat, it was suspenseful for me, I was expecting that something would attack them but it didn't happen. Instead, their boat was capsized by the minions of Ursula thus preventing them from kissing (image below).

I never thought that Ursula would take it upon herself to accomplish her mission by posing as a lady in order to take Eric away from Ariel thus preventing them from kissing.

Ursula posing as a lady while Eric was under her spell (image below)

The ending of Ursula came as a surprise to me since Ariel was able to direct a galleon with a pointed wood at the front that stabs Ursula. The ending of the movie is also a surprise to me (Eric and Ariel will go on a voyage together).

Conclusion

The movie is good. But there are times when I get bored, especially on the singing scene except the scenes of Sebastian and Scuttle singing. The movie is just too long. I would love it if it would be shorter since I am not accustomed to seeing such a long Little Mermaid movie. The effect and the animation are exceptional. But the script, I think, needs some improvement. I do recommend this movie for those who are fans of Little Mermaid but I must say that it gets me bored at times. But we do have different tastes and perspectives in watching. The costumes are also great. I think they should have lessened the singing scene of the movie to shorten the time of the singing of the characters except of course the singing of Sebastian.

I must admit that the actor portraying Eric is handsome. I also love his accent. I think the movie should made a bold move when the mermaid showed up when Eric and Ariel were preparing to board a boat on their way to the galleon.

I think I have said a long conclusion, so let me make it sink into other who is going to watch the movie. I think the movie this too long. There is a lot of singing I think. They should have lessened the singing or just shortened the time of the singing.


About the Author

@chenee is a bartender by profession, a plain housewife taking care of my family. I love pancit, I love to play online games, and I also love to sing and dance

Thank you all for the support.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center