Have You Ever Heard The Word Spotlight Effect?

pexels-lucas-allmann-460918.jpg

Photo by Lucas Allmann

While working on the guest list for my podcast, I encountered the term spotlight effect. This is the first time that I read those but based on the definition given the majority of us are experiencing such problems.

The phenomenon where people tend to overestimate how much others notice aspects of one’s appearance or behavior - Reducing Social Anxiety: The Spotlight Effect - Ryan Calderaro

A good example is taking pictures of ourselves in public or even filming for a vlog. We think about how people will react when they see us doing such in public. I find it awkward to take my own selfies but love to take photos of my wife and daughter and even post them on social media.

It is good to be aware of ourselves and our actions as we are careful about what others think, but don't you agree it hinders us from harnessing our full potential?

A good example is if you want to start a new project may it be a blog or even a vlog posted on the blockchain or maybe in your own social media account. But when the moment that you open your camera and start filming, you feel that people around stare at you and laugh at you since you are talking to yourself.

I ALWAYS FEEL THIS WAY!

Each time that I will go outside and plan to take some pictures of the surrounding I feel people are also looking at me. Most of the shots that I took from my device are stolen shots btw.

viber_image_2023-03-24_07-25-51-432.jpg

A short resting spot before reaching our home.

viber_image_2023-03-24_07-26-29-356.jpg

Empty basketball ring outside

viber_image_2023-03-24_07-38-00-722.jpg

viber_image_2023-03-24_07-41-12-401.jpg

Me trying to take a picture of the area but saw someone looking thus hit the shutter button immediately without properly focusing on the place


Publicly, I can say that I cannot take some decent shots. When I bought a new mobile device I told myself that I will be bolder to take some images outside as it defeats the purpose of acquiring a new one.

Taking the context of images and videos we can also relate the concept of sharing our blogs in our own social media accounts.

How many of you share your post in your own accounts? I rarely do it as like in 20 post I created I might have shared one in my personal account.

Why?

Because I am afraid of possible scrutiny from other people I do know of. The preconceived judgement is so strong and even my podcast I rarely share that too!

I am hoping to get more listeners but with that mindset I doubt it will be.

So what's my point here?

We trap ourselves in the concept of spotlight effect and miss out some opportunities that could have been given to us.

Maybe you are the next amazing content creator out there but since you are shy you are not able to unleash your full potential. I love how one friend of my quote things in a harsh but truthful way "The world will judge you no matter what you do, so do what makes you happy without trampling the feet of others"

Also one mindset that I am trying to adapt is people don't care at all. They have their own lives to worry and they might glance for you in a bit but then forget what happened afterwards like a goldfish.

It is always easier said than done. Believe me I am still in the same situation and little by little improving to such.

This is why I do podcast and webinars and other stuff for me to get used to the feeling.

So yeah if you are feeling such lately and even today I want you to remember that it is okay. Take things slowly and try to incorporate change in your life.

You will see the changes as you go along the process.


Shameless plug!


image.png

image.png

Thank you friends for supporting the podcast that I am working with. It means a lot to me! Based on the location, I do know some of you and hopefully if I hit I will never forget you.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency