Start The New Year Right

Last year, when I wrote my yearly recap, I had to realize I wasn't able to name a singe important thing I did in January. I mean I'm not the type to laze in the bed all day without doing anything, so I carried on with my life but most likely did nothing spectacular. I'm not going to beat myself up on this, but it is definitely not a good thing.

Hive is like a journal, or a diary for me, so now that I'm putting together this post, I went to check what I posted about in January and saw I visited an exhibition. I remember that now. When I'll be 80 and suffer from Alzheimer, at least I'll have Hive to check out, to learn who I am and what I've been doing these years.

Start The New Year Right

Learning from my mistakes, or lack of remembrance, this year I decided to do things differently. It's the first day of the year, I mean the first working day and I decided to spend it the right way.

Without being a psychologist, over the years I came to notice what most people usually do so I do exactly the opposite to get more benefits or take care of my business the easier way. Monday (the first day of the week) is usually the day when people like to go the the doctor or different governmental offices. Today we have the appointment system, which gives you the advantage of having a certain period of time allocated to you, but even so, sometimes there can be delays, which automatically lead to spending more time in there as usual. This is the reason I usually choose any other day of the week if possible instead of Monday.

christian-wiediger-ssKEI4HRRtI-unsplash.jpg

Photo by Christian Wiediger on Unsplash

Going To The Bank

Despite of what I said above, today I went to the bank! It's not Monday, but it's the first working day of the year and I chose to start it at the bank. Ok, I went there midday, not at the opening hour, but still.

This visit has been procrastinated for at least two months. My dad's account needed to be sorted out and for various reasons, there was never the right time to do it. This morning, I took the papers that we needed, thought things through, put together a strategy and went to the bank.

Although I have a couple of decades experience of working with banks, these visits are not always smooth. What I want and what they are willing to offer are two different thing and there's no meet in the middle. This is why you need to go prepared for every possibility and know what to ask and how. Otherwise you end up with what they want for you.

tim-evans-Uf-c4u1usFQ-unsplash.jpg

Photo by Tim Evans on Unsplash

Shame on me I know, for not making an appointment, but they gave me one on the spot as there were only 2 or 3 clients in the bank at the time of our visit. With internet banking available for years, clients don't go often to the bank and it was the first working day as well. This was my hidden weapon, I thought people won't rush to the bank first thing in the new year and businesses are not all open yet either, no cash to deposit or things to sort out yet.

boris-stefanik-q49CgyIrLes-unsplash.jpg

Photo by Boris Stefanik on Unsplash

It took us around 40 minutes, to get what we wanted and lucky us, we got even more. We got a good deal from the bank, some discounts, which is always welcome. It wasn't easy but I did it.

While writing this post, I saw a tweet from someone I follow saying this:

If you don’t know what you want in life you’ll get what others want for you.

This is so true! I fully agree with it.

Anyway, it feels good to start the year right and do something that should have been done a long time ago. Procrastination is not good and we're in a new year, so let's change what we can to make life better.

If you're a newbie, you may want to check out these guides:


presearch

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency