Met this fungi family on a Friday walk today

Behind my house is a thick forest. Unfortunately, the giant trees cast dark shadows, so no traditional garden vegetation grows there.

But ferns and other forest floor plants live happy lives there, so it's not a dead spot in the garden. On the contrary, it's bursting with energy if you just put your nose to the ground to see it; it's dark and not so accessible, so it can be hard to find, but it is there.

And, of course, all kinds of mushrooms that love the humidity and darkness are all over the place.

When I entered the dusk there today, I met this fungi family. And while people were strolling in the sun, they were having their Friday walk in the garden's undergrowth.

I haven't met a happier family today :)

Svartir sveppir-fjölskilda-1-MIX-HIVE-2.jpg

This is my contribution to #FungiFriday by @ewkaw

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now