Mushroom Picking in the Balkan Mountains - a Beginners Diary

IMG_20201112_134452.jpg


After a few days of grey clouds and rain, today the sun came out again and it was a glorious day!

I was eager to spend time outside, and luckily there's always a lot to do here on the farm, that we are house-sitting during the winter.
So I did a little bit of gardening, preparing the beds for the winter, and spent the afternoon out in the woods to gather some more mushrooms for winter storage :-)


IMG_20201112_134530.jpg


IMG_20201112_135345.jpg


I'm very new to picking mushrooms, I don't know many of the edible specimens, in fact, I only recognize one, maybe two, so far ^^

But for now this is enough, and I'm happy that I find just some, that I know, I can eat.


IMG_20201112_150346.jpg


As I said, I'm a bloody beginner, so I only pick the ones with the spongy spores for now, because I've been told, that none of that family are poisonous ^^

According to my book, most of the ones in my basket are "Slippery Jacks", and I also found some "Penny Buns".


IMG_20201112_161955.jpg


Unfortunatly about half of them were already being eaten by little worms, or turned out to be already too mature and soft and watery.
But I was still able to cut some of them into pieces and prepare them for drying.


IMG_20201112_185436.jpg


It's getting colder here in the Balkan Mountains and we just had the first frost last night. So I think the season for picking mushrooms is slowly drawing to and end.

Anyway, I had some great hours in the woods, all on my own, enjoying the peace of nature in this beautiful part of the world :-)


IMG_20201112_142959.jpg

all pictures by me

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center