For People Over 18 [Eng/Esp]

How many of us have stopped to look at the rating of a movie before sitting down with our children to watch TV? I must confess that even though my kids have never had the freedom to watch whatever they want, I have flanked them a few times and that is the reason for this post.

Happy #morherhood daddies I hope you are having a great week! Today I wanted to share with you a very interesting topic that I have always paid a lot of attention to, as it is the content that my children consume in front of the TV, because as a mom I am aware of the influence that can have on a child what he/she perceives through the screens.

For this reason, although I did not limit the use of TV, I was very attentive to what the children could see. In fact, with my first son, since he became interested in cartoons, I let him watch some Discovery Kids programs because they were educational and had a lot of musical content, which he liked a lot, but as he got older he wanted to take control and choose the TV programs, which of course I did not allow him to do.

And so time went by and I had to sit down and watch the different channels for children and decide which ones I could watch and which ones I could not, because although they are supposed to be channels for children, unfortunately nowadays they are full of anti-values and due to their young age it is very difficult for them to differentiate between what is right and what is wrong and what is real and what is fantasy.

And about this I have an anecdote with my youngest daughter who around the age of three challenged me because I drew her a gray elephant and for her elephants were pink and blue as she saw them in cartoons, so of course I had to look for an encyclopedia and show her. Although I swear she was not pleased!!!!


img_0.3853572560454939.jpg

And from that moment on I tried to be around when they watched their cartoons, especially for Miranda who is super innocent and imaginative and everything she sees on TV she swears it exists! So after watching the whole children's program I selected the channels and we blocked everything else.

Which turned out to be an excellent alternative for us, as unfortunately we can't be on 24 hours a day.
Unfortunately we can't watch what they watch on TV 24 hours a day. Eventually we freed up the channels but they were already aware of what they could and could not watch.

But as the years went by instead of wanting to spend more time in their room they migrated from their room to ours and although I was clear that sexual and violent content are not suitable for them, at home I am a fan of horror and horror movies, so controlling that kind of content became a problem.

And those of you who have read me know that I am usually pretty firm with discipline and rules at home, but in that sense I felt I was failing since they have been watching horror movies with me for a few years now and in fact they are some of their favorites. And if you ask me if they get scared, the truth is that I can count on the fingers of one hand the number of times they've had a bad night watching them.


img_0.3853572560454939.jpg

But as a mom there's always been the question if I'm doing right, because just because they don't get scared and enjoy watching them doesn't mean it's right. And of course there is a limit, not only in what they see but in what I see too, because I try as much as possible to restrict everything that touches spiritual terms like possessions for example (and we have seen some of those).

The thing is that recently we were about to watch Anabelle (I lost count of the times we have seen it) and for the first time I paid attention to the age rating and it turns out that it is reserved for 17 years and older.

Of course this led me to analyze again if I am doing the right thing or if on the contrary I decided to let go a bit on the worst option, because if the classification exists it is for the well being of the kids. But this whole issue is getting quite confusing for me lately.

And this is because I've seen a lot of A-rated content (suitable for all audiences) that I wouldn't let my children watch because of the amount of anti-values that exist.


img_0.3853572560454939.jpg

So I came to the conclusion that beyond the classification that may have the programs on TV or at the movies, the important thing is to realize if what our children see is in line with the principles and values that we teach them at home, and it is not about living in a bubble, but to protect our children who, being small, are easily influenced by any current that adults try to sow through the screens.

And in the face of all these issues I believe that our criteria as parents should prevail over the classification of a program because it protects the child from some things but exposes them to others that for me are much worse.

And with this little reflection I say goodbye and I look forward to your comments that for me are super valuable. Kisses and blessings guys!



img_0.11529165562473216.jpg

Cuantos nos hemos detenido a mirar la clasificación de una película antes de sentarnos con nuestros niños a ver la tele? Debo confesar que a pesar que mis hijos nunca han tenido la libertad de ver todo lo que les de la gana he flanqueado algunas veces y ése es el motivo de este post.

img_0.3853572560454939.jpg

Feliz día papitos de #morherhood espero estén teniendo una excelente semana! El día de hoy quise compartir con ustedes un tema bien interesante y al que siempre le he prestado mucha atención, como lo es el contenido que consumen mis hijos frente a la tele, porque como mamá estoy consciente de la influencia que puede tener en un niño lo que percibe a través de las pantallas.

Por tal motivo aunque no limité el uso de la tele, sí estuve muy atenta a lo que los niños podían ver. De hecho con mi primer hijo desde que sintió interés por las caricatturas le dejaba mirar algunos programas de Discovery Kids por ser educativos y tener mucho contenido musical que eran cosas que le gustaban muchísimo, pero a medida que iba creciendo quería tomar el control y escoger los programas de TV, cosa que supuesto yo no permitía.

Y así fue pasando el tiempo y me tocó sentarme a mirar los diferentes canales para niños y decidir cuáles podía ver y cuáles no, porque aunque se supone que son canales para niños lamentablemente hoy día están repletos de antivalores y debido a su corta edad es muy difícil que logren diferenciar lo correcto de lo que no lo es y lo real de la fantasía.

Y sobre esto tengo una anécdota con mi hija menor quien cerca de los tres años me retó porque le dibujé un elefante gris y para ella los elefantes eran rosados y azules tal como los veía en los dibujos animados, por lo que por supuesto me tocó buscar una enciclopedia y mostrarle. Aunque les juro que no quedó conforme!!!


img_0.3853572560454939.jpg

Y desde ése momento trataba de estar cerca cuando veían sus dibujos animados, sobre todo por Miranda quien es súper inocente y fantasiosa y todo lo que ve en la tele jura que existe! Así que después de verme toda la parrilla infantil seleccione los canales y bloqueamos todo lo demás.

Lo que resultó ser una excelente alreenativa para nosotros, ya que lamentablemente no podemos estar las 24 horas del día atentos a lo que ven en la tele. Con el tiempo liberamos los canales pero ya estaban al tanto de qué podían ver y que no.

Pero a medida que los años pasaban en lugar de querer pasar más tiempo a su habitación fueron migrando de su cuarto al nuestro y aunque estaba clara en que contenido sexual y violento no son aptos para ellos, en casa soy fanática de las peliculas de horror y terror, por lo que controlar ése tipo de contenido se volvió un problema.

Y los que me han leído saben que suelo ser bastante firme con la disciplina y normas en casa, pero en ése sentido sentía que estaba fallando ya que desde hace unos cuantos años ven las películas de terror conmigo y de hecho son de sus favoritas. Y si me preguntan si se asutan, la verdad es que puedo contar con los dedos de una mano las veces que han pasado mala noche por mirarlas.


img_0.3853572560454939.jpg

Pero como mamá siempre ha estado la pregunta si estoy haciendo bien, porque el que no se asusten y disfruten verlas no quiere decir que sea correcto. Y por supuesto que hay un límite, no sólo en lo que ellos ven sino en lo que yo veo tambien, pues trato en lo posible restringir un poco todo lo que toca términos espirituales como posesiones por ejemplo (y aún de ésas hemos visto algunas).

El caso es que recientemente nos disponíamos a ver Anabelle (perdí la cuenta de las veces que la hemos visto) y por primera vez presté atención a la clasificación de la edad y resulta que está reservada para mayores de 17 años.

Por supuesto ésto me llevó a analizar nuevamente si estoy obrando de manera correcta o si por el contrario decidí soltar un poco en la peor de las opciones, debido a que si existe la clasificación es por el bienestar de los chicos. Pero todo este tema me está resultando bastante confuso últimamente.

Y ésto se debe a que he visto muchísimo contenido con clasificación A (apto para todo público) que de ninguna manera dejaría ver a mis hijos por la cantidad de antivalores existentes.


img_0.3853572560454939.jpg

Así que llegué a la conclusión que más allá de la clasificación que puedan tener los programas en la tele o en el cine lo importante es darnos cuenta si lo que ven nuestros hijos está acorde a los principios y valores que les enseñamos en casa, y no se trata de que vivan en una burbuja, sino en proteger a nuestros hijos que al ser pequeños son fácilmente influenciados por cualquier corriente que los adultos pretendan sembrar a través de las pantallas.

Y ante todos estos temas creo que nuestro criterio como padres debe prevalecer por encima de la clasificación de un programa porque se protege al niño de unas cosas pero se les expone a otras que para mí son mucho peores.

Y con ésta pequeña reflexión me despido y espero sus comentarios que para mí son súper valiosos. Besitos y bendiciones chicos!


img_0.731116121583772.jpg

Photography by|Fotografía por:
@rlathulerie, Samsung Galaxy M12


Cover created in | Portada Creada en Canva


Edtion e image by| Edición e imágenes por:
@rlathulerie on Canva


Separators created in| Separadores creados en Canva


Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now