A POOR MUM'S RELIEF

IMG-20221018-WA0017.jpg

IMG-20221017-WA0042.jpg
He looked all lean and pale. You’d most certainly believe he’d burn in the sun since he was white as a vampire would be. His eyes were sunken and his skin dry. He didn’t eat a thing. He just wobbled around in a bid to get by his day. I thought he would faint the very next second, and most probably, would have if I hadn’t rushed him in for proper medical attention.

Taking the hands of time a bit behind that, Adrian, had developed a fever two days before this. I administered usual home medications supposing he was just down with the weather as happens occasionally. I can’t exactly say if he responded or didn’t after that. He was giddy this minute and listless the next. He couldn’t explain what he felt, you know how kids are. I didn’t realize he was ebbing away slowly until that Sunday morning.

Back at where we started, at the clinic. After a series of tests and examinations, it was discovered that his system was running low on white blood cells, hence, blood too. There was no specific cause, it was airborne, so the nurse told me. Thank goodness I took the decision to seek proper medical attention immediately, the case would have gotten worse. He was placed on admission for closer watch while he received treatment.

You are going to be just fine,” I muttered to him and myself also. I tried so hard to believe that. I was too distraught then to think of the expenses. It was when my boy started returning to life I began to think of how to clear our bills. Let’s not even talk of how much, lol. The most important part is that I managed and we went home after 3 days. It was indeed an ugly experience. I was so scared to lose my sunshine, Adrian. Thank goodness he’s hale and hearty now. I hope everyone who is in such a situation gets through strong and relieved.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now