My savings plan for my kids through Saturday savers

It's a #beautiful Sunday, and I am starting this new week feeling motivated. Two weeks ago, @deraaa and I had a chat, and she told me about Saturday Saver's Club. An initiative here on Hive where I can cultivate some savings and investment culture while writing my progress report with other participants as a way to keep track of my activities. I welcomed this initiative with both arms, considering how I have struggled to pay my kids school fees for this new session, which started on September 4, 2023.

20230917_175600_0000.png

I told myself that in as much as I have to spend for my family every now and then for necessities, there is a need that I start throwing some of my earnings into savings so that whenever I have a major project like school fees, for example, that is of great importance, I wouldn't struggle to carry it out. Actually, my husband and I share the fees and other bills at home with a certain percentage, but I found out that sometimes I struggle with the bills, mainly due to the inflation in our country today. With the Saturday Savers Club (SSC), I see it as a way to discipline myself with savings. For instance, this September is a no-buy month according to SSC. This doesn't mean that you wouldn't buy your necessities, but remove some expenses you can do without as a way of saving. For me, I am challenging myself not to spend on drinks, biscuits, and new clothes for this month as a way of saving some HBD for my kids. My HBD savings from now until December are targeted at using them to support their school fees by the next session in January 2024. With this idea, I won't struggle like I did in this current academic session. Yes, my primary aim with these savings is solely to support my kids' tuition fees.

IMG_20230917_162741.jpg
Image source

The Hive Naija community was privileged to have @shanibeer and two other members of Saturday's Savers Club in their live hangout, where they educated us more about this initiative. It was really an interesting session with them, and I embraced the idea immediately, hence my introduction post today. I actually started saving five HBD every Saturday since two weeks ago, but today I decided to join officially through this post.

I have found it challenging to save some HBD in the past. When it comes to spending, just call NKEM. But then, I am not an extravagant spender. I am always calculative when spending. Another thing is that I don't know how to overlook important needs in my home, and I feel I shouldn't be disturbing my husband when I can afford to replace our needs. Most times, he doesn't even know when things get finished at home because I don't wait for things to finish completely before replacing them. I will just rush to my HBD in my hive wallet, convert to hive, and rush to Binance, lolz. This is why I didn't have a dime in my HBD savings prior to my discovery about Saturday Savings Club (SSC). I am glad to join in saving some percentage of my HBD earnings going forward.

Finally, here is my primary goal with Saturday savers: I've already set my HP goal at 5K since the beginning of the year. So, joining SSC now, I am adding the HBD goal here. As earlier mentioned, I have saved 5 HBD each in the last two Saturdays, and I plan for weekly savings.

CURRENTGOAL
HP4,696.5085,000
HBD1080

My secondary goal

CURRENTGOAL
Leo token5701000

Every mother will always want the best for her children, and I am no exception. I hope to remain consistent with this savings goal to make it less challenging to pay for my kids fees in the next academic session. For now, I can't think of any challenges I may encounter along the way that may hinder me from achieving this goal, but I am positive that grace will be on my side to help me achieve it.

Perhaps you have interest in joining Saturday Savers. You can read their latest post here

Thank you for checking my blog today!!

Please note that the thumbnail image was designed using canva app

20230615_081050_0000.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center