PREGNANCY: DEALING WITH MORNING SICKNESS/NAUSEA

pregnant-gb6e32e0d6_1920.jpg
source

Pregnancy is what women desire the most but no one tells you how complicated and difficult sometimes it can be, morning sickness/nausea can be frustrating for most women in their first trimester, as for me it wasn't easy at all.

I couldn't eat food due to morning sickness and nausea, I was so sick and I couldn't eat food for three months. I went to the hospital and the doctor advised me to try and take dry snacks like; peanuts, groundnut, crackers but none of these snacks worked.

I was even advised to take liquids, fruits, or beverages, but to no avail. Anytime I tried to eat actual food, I become sick and miserable for the whole day.

Seriously, some women say their first trimester was the best for them, but my case was different because it was the worst for me, I was so sick I was put on bed rest by my doctor for three months.

Laying on my bed my mind went to several places, I thought of how some women give birth to 15 kids with all the stress, pain, and sickness I was going through because my aunty gave birth to 15 kids too and I discovered that our bodies and experiences are different, but can it be that different I ask myself.

All I could take was corn flakes, milk, and water, I realized I hated all the fruits I loved before even if I was a fruit person, I hated my favorite meals, and most days I was Seriously getting weak and tired with each passing day.

My emotions were all over the place, I couldn't stay where meals were prepared, the smell made me so sick,
Perfumes, soaps, and body creams were a no-no for me.

I said to myself no one told me it was going to be easy but also this difficult.

For me, the experience was my best teacher and a very hard teacher at that.

My mom and family will always tell me it will get better but I couldn't relate at that time because the food was my worst nightmare and my body needed it and I needed help also.

Going for antenatal and meeting expectant mothers who eat anything they see passing by and are looking healthy, while I was losing weight, looking unkempt and hungry was a consign to me, I was wondering why my case was different and how to get a solution.

I decided to speak to my doctor about my experience, but instead of a solution that I was looking for I was asked to eat at least six times a day, shouting in my heart doctor I can't eat food, I think he heard me because the next words from him were my solution.

My doctor told me every food you eat should be prepared by someone else, not around you and brought to you and in little potions and always eat what's on your mind and that was what worked for me, although I was not eating like other expectant moms but at least I could keep food down.
I began to try that and it worked for me Little by little.

Finally, I have left my struggling first trimester to a peaceful second trimester.

if you are an expectant mom and you have passed through the struggles of your first trimester, congratulations 🎉 and welcome to the most peaceful trimester.

Thank you for reading

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center