Things I love about being a single mom! - Cosas que amo se ser una madre soltera ! [ENG-ESP]

IMG_20230514_143541.jpg

Greetings to all this beautiful community, in which we have the joy of sharing our process and experiences on this great adventure that is being parents.

Being a mom is not an easy task, and being a single mom can get even more complicated. From the beginning of my pregnancy I was aware I would have hard moments and I should give my best always thinking about the future and stability of my child.

For me it's not been easy financially, and emotionally it hasn't been a bed of roses either, but despite all difficulties and hard times there's a bunch of things that make me feel very fortuna to be an autonomous mother.

Un saludo a esta hermosa comunidad, comunidad en la que tenemos la dicha de compartir nuestros procesos y experiencias en esta gran aventura que es ser padres.

Ser madre no es una tarea fácil, y ser madre soltera puede ser más complicado aún. Desde el inicio de mi embarazo tuve claro que tendría momentos difíciles y que debía dar lo mejor de mi siempre pensando en el futuro y la estabilidad de mi hija.

Para mí no ha sido fácil económicamente, y emocionalmente tampoco es que ha sido un lecho de rosas, pero a pesar de las dificultades y momentos más duros hay un montón de cosas por las que me siento afortunada de ser una madre autónoma.

_MG_9936.JPG

I picked the name.

Chosing the baby's name is one of those things when everyone seems to have an opinion: the father wants the baby to have his name, the mother wants the grandfather's name, the aunt thinks the baby should have that trendy name. In my case I didn't have all of those opinions and suggestions flying around, but it was just me chosing the name my baby would bear. And that is a satisfaction none can take from me.

I make the decisions.

Deciding for a school, to not pierce the earlobes, which pediatrician is better, the menu, the playdates. I have plenty of freedom to chose what is best for my daughter without opinions influenced by third parties, advises are welcome but I have the luck to not be in constant debates about every step I take regarding me raising my daughter.

Yo escogí el nombre.

Elegir el nombre del bebé es una de esas cosas en las que todo el mundo parece tener una opinión: El padre desea que lleve su nombre, la madre quiere que tenga el nombre de un abuelo, la tía opina que debería tener aquel nombre de moda. En mi caso no tuve ese sin fin de sugerencias ni opiniones encontradas sino que yo solita escogí el nombre que lleva mi hija. Y eso es una satisfacción que nadie me va a quitar.

Las decisiones las tomo yo.

Decidir colegio, no poner aretes a la niña, cuál pediatra escoger, menú, las salidas a pasear. Tengo plena libertad de escoger lo mejor para mí hija sin opiniones influenciadas por terceros, los consejos son apreciados pero tengo la fortuna de no estar en constantes debates sobre cada paso que doy en la crianza de mi hija.

IMG_20211101_175342.jpg

No extra paperwork to travel.

My daughter only has my last name and her biological father does not play any role in any document, that is why we have had plenty of freedom to travel without any opposition or having to get an extra permit, which is frankly a breath of fresh air because we enjoy exploring and visiting new places every once in a while.

No grandma war.

Oftentimes there's that rivalry between grandma's, that competition for the affection and attention of the kids. I have witnessed it in several occasions, even between my own grandmothers. In my case my mother doesn't have a contendant for the favorite grandma place, and she enjoys it even more than she would like to admit...I am sure of that.

Sin papeleo adicional para viajar.

Mi hija tiene únicamente mis apellidos y su padre biológico no figura en ningún certificado, por ello hemos gozado con la libertad plena de viajar sin oposiciones ni tener que tramitar permisos de viaje adicionales, lo cual es francamente un respiro pues disfrutamos explorar y visitar sitios nuevos cada cierto tiempo.

No hay guerra de abuelas.

A menudo existe entre las abuelas esa competencia por la atención y cariño de los niños. Lo he observado en más de una ocasión, incluso entre mis propias abuelas. En mi caso mi madre no tiene contendiente por el lugar de abuela favorita, y disfruta con ello más de lo que admite en realidad... De eso estoy segura.

IMG_20231024_091959.jpg

We have a special bond.

The connection between a mother and her child is strong and unbreakable. My daughter and me have and incredible complicity, a special bond I enjoy completely, and despite all of the anguish I have lived, the uncertainty and difficulties, I would change for anything in the world those moments in which there's only the two of us with our embraces and uncontrollable fits of laugh.

I love you Luna Verónica.

Tenemos una conexión especial.

El vínculo entre una madre y su hijo es fuerte e inquebrantable. Mi hija y yo tenemos una complicidad increíble, un lazo especial del que gozo a plenitud, y a pesar de los momentos de angustia que he vivido, de la incertidumbre y las dificultades, no cambiaría por nada del mundo esos instantes en los que somos solo ella y yo con nuestros mimos y risas incontrolables.

Te amo Luna Verónica.

IMG_20231005_160109.jpg

Every picture is of my ownership.

Todas las fotos me pertenecen.

IMG-20230916-WA0028.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments