Extended Nursing: My experience - Lactancia Prolongada: Mi experiencia. [ENG-ESP]

IMG_20230911_211557.jpg

Before I became a mother I used to be one of those that thought it was wrong to breastfeed after the year, in fact I said six months was more than enough and that I would never do such thing. Yes, before having kids we are totally different people.

When I got pregnant I decided I was going to nurse exclusively, and to be honest one of the main reasons was the cost of formula because my daughter was born right in the middle of 2020's lockdown and it was not the best moment financially speaking. If someone had told me I was going to breastfeed for almost three years, I wouldn't have believed it.

Antes de convertirme en madre fui de aquellas que creía que estaba mal dar el pecho más allá del año, de hecho decía que seis meses eran más que suficientes y que jamás haría algo así. Si, antes de tener hijos somos personas totalmente distintas.

Cuando me embaracé me decidí a dar exclusivamente lactancia materna, y para ser sincera uno de los motivos principales fue el costo de las fórmulas ya que mi hija nació en plena cuarentena del 2020 y económicamente no era el mejor momento. Si alguien me hubiese dicho que iba a amamantarla casi tres años jamás lo hubiese creído.

IMG_20230911_211531.jpg

At first I really believed in those myths that I would not produce enough milk because I was flat chested, and that was something that really worried me. But once my daughter was born I felt relieved to see I was perfectly able to feed her. I was fortunate that I found a pediatrician that is also a lactation consultant and she really helped me at all times, because at first I had issues latching and it became a traumatic experience to say the least.

My daughter was pretty demanding, I felt I spent all day nursing and had no time to do much else. Every feeding lasted about an hour, and half an hour later she was hunger again.

Luckily it regulated slowly until we had a better schedule, and of course I took the advise of sleeping when baby does.

Al principio creí ciegamente en esos mitos de que quizá no produciría leche suficiente por tener los pechos pequeños, y era algo que realmente me preocupaba. Pero una vez nació mi pequeña me sentí sumamente aliviada de ver que si podía alimentarla. Conté con la fortuna de encontrar una pediatra que es también asesora de lactancia y me ayudó muchísimo en todo momento, ya que en un principio tuve un problema con el agarre que terminó siendo una experiencia realmente traumática.

Mi hija era sumamente demandante, sentía que pasaba todo el día dándole pecho y tenía escaso tiempo para mí. Le daba tomas de una hora y media hora más tarde estaba pidiendo nuevamente. Afortunadamente las tomas se fueron regulando poco a poco hasta tener un horario más normal, y el consejo de dormir cuando la bebé lo haga me lo tomé al pie de la letra.

IMG_20230911_211626.jpg

I got many compliments back then just for nursing, but that was shortlived. With the first year approaching, started the typical comments that my breast milk was turning into water, that she was too big, that it was time to get rid of the "bad habit". My daughter started teething past the year of age, and in more than one occasion I was told it was because I still nursed her (yes, I did put the same face you have right now by just reading).

I really did not have any interest in weaning, it was not that urgent. I worked from home, spent the day with her, I wasn't really worried and it was exhausting having to explain something that was nobody's business. At first I used my social media to share information and images about breastfeeding, how it's recommended for at least two years, about it's benefits. Then I just shrugged.

Recibí muchos cumplidos en ese entonces por el simple hecho de amamantar, pero eso acabó pronto. Al irse acercando el primer año de edad empezaron los comentarios típicos de que ya se estaba haciendo agua mi leche, que ya ella estaba grande, que era hora de ir quitándole "la mala costumbre". Mi hija empezó la dentición pasado el año de edad, y en más de una ocasión me dijeron que era por darle el pecho (si, yo también ponía la cara que acabas de poner al leer esto).

La verdad no tenía interés alguno en quitarle el pecho, no era una urgencia para mí. Trabajaba desde casa, pasaba el día con ella, no era algo que me preocupara realmente y era sumamente agotador tener que estar dando explicaciones de algo que no era problema de nadie. Al principio lanzaba indirectas en mis redes sociales compartiendo información e imágenes sobre la lactancia, sobre cómo se recomendaba por un mínimo de dos años, sobre los beneficios. Luego simplemente me encogía de hombros y ya.

My daughter started daycare when she turned two years old, and if I'm to be sincere I was a bit ashamed until I noticed I was not the only one breastfeeding on demand, we were six lactating moms. And I felt guilty for feeling ashamed of something that is so natural. I finally felt comfortable after all that time I always had someone making ill comments about it.

But it was that exact time that I started experiencing lactation dysphoria. Just the thought of nursing caused me conflict, it was mentally exhausting, I felt anxious just to think about it. It was time to wean.

Cumplidos los dos años mi hija comenzó en el maternal, y si soy completamente honesta me daba algo de vergüenza hasta que noté que no era la única que seguía ofreciendo pecho a libre demanda, éramos seis mamás lactantes. Y sentí algo de culpa por avergonzarme de un acto tan natural. Me sentí cómoda finalmente luego de que durante todo ese tiempo siempre había alguien haciendo comentarios al respecto.

Pero fue precisamente en ese momento que empecé a experimentar disforia de la lactancia. El hecho de amamantar me estaba causando un malestar insoportable, me agotaba mentalmente, me causaba ansiedad el solo pensarlo. Había llegado el momento de destetar.

IMG_20230911_211716.jpg

The thing I was worried about is that she doesn't like cow's milk, not sweetened, not with oatmeal, not with chocolate... she does not like it. I talked to her pediatrician for an alternative and she made me feel safer. But my daughter was in the process of potty training and she advised me to wait. That it could be counterproductive to take off both things at once.

The third birthday was approaching and I thought it would be harder if I waited too long, I was stressed out and people's opinions kept multiplying. Members of my family, neighbors, they were all the enemy. My aunts telling me to put hot sauce on myself, a cousin telling me it was not normal and my daughter would end up with mental health problems, acquaintances "jokingly" saying we were shameless, the stares. All kept adding up and this time I wasn't ashamed, I was tired.

Una de las cosas que me preocupaba era que a mí hija no le gusta la leche de vaca, ni endulzada, ni en avena, ni con chocolate... Simplemente no le agrada. Conversé con su pediatra para ver alternativas nutricionales y me tranquilizó un montón. Pero estaba en el proceso de dejar el pañal y me aconsejo esperar. Que no le quitara ambas cosas a la vez por un tema de confort.

Se acercaban los tres años y sentía que mientras pasaba el tiempo sería aún más difícil, ya estaba volviéndose estresante y cada día los comentarios negativos de terceras personas aumentaban. Incluyendo miembros de mi familia, vecinos, todos parecían el enemigo. Mis tías aconsejando que me colocara salsa picante, una prima diciendo que no es normal y que mi hija terminaría con un trastorno psiquiátrico, los conocidos que entre "juegos" nos decían sinvergüenzas, las miradas en la calle. Cada cosa se sumaba y esta vez no era vergüenza, era cansancio.

IMG_20230911_211741.jpg

I started talking her to explain that the day was coming, told her she was already a big girl and mommy needed to rest. By that time she would only nurse to sleep, when she was moody or crying. But still she told me she didn't want to be a big girl, that she wanted to be a little baby.

One morning I went out to run some errands, it got late and got home past six in the evening. We fell asleep after dinner, so she spent the whole day without nursing. Next morning she wanted it and I said no, I said there wasn't any... and she understood, she asked to see them and despite putting a sad face she didn't insist. I always thought it would be harder, but she accepted it in a way I was totally surprised.

I breastfed my daughter for thirty-four months... and I am proud of it.

Poco a poco le hablaba y le explicaba que ya se acercaba el día, que ya era una niña grande y que mamá necesitaba descansar. Para ese momento ella solo pedía para dormir, cuando estaba malhumorada o al llorar. Pero aún así me decía que no quería ser grande, que entonces sería bebita.

Una mañana salí temprano a hacer unas diligencias, se me hizo tarde y llegué pasadas las seis. Luego de cenar nos quedamos dormidas por lo que pasó el día entero sin lactar. A la mañana siguiente me pidió y le dije que no, que ya no había... y comprendió, me pidió verlas y a pesar de poner cara triste no insistió más. Algunas veces pedía verlas, o poner su carita cerca, pero no insistía. Siempre pensé que sería más difícil, pero lo aceptó de una manera que me sorprendió totalmente.

Amamanté a mi hija durante treinta y cuatro meses... y estoy orgullosa de ello.

IMG-20230828-WA0021.jpg

Pictures taken by me with my Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 cellphone.

Fotografías tomadas con mi teléfono Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 .

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments