Open Letter to my Daughter: If There is One Thing I've Learned in My Life, It's to Love You [ENG/ESP]

IMG_20211126_121446869.jpg

Photos taken by me

untitled.gif

How do I properly start this letter to you, my little one? I think the best way to do it is just to let the love I feel for you guide me and tell me what to express to you and how to do it. I only hope that at the end of this letter you will feel happy, but above all, that when you read it when you are a little older, you will be able to understand what you mean in my life. It is simply impossible to describe in words, and this slight helplessness will be felt by any parent reading this letter. Anyway, I promise to do my best...

Antho, my beautiful little girl, I first heard about you 8 and a half years ago in the past. Since I suspected you were on your way, until I saw your beautiful little black eyes and that precious face that has always characterized you for the first time. Many times I was asked, if I could choose between a girl and a boy, would I have done it? My answer has always been the same: "No. Because I was always sure I would have a girl". My life was not better without you, my love. On the contrary, I think I have learned to know aspects that you only discover that you are able to live, feel and experience when you are a mother....

¿Cómo inicio apropiadamente esta carta hacia ti, hijita mía? Creo que la mejor manera de hacerlo, es tan sólo dejando que el amor que siento por ti me guíe y me diga qué expresarte y cómo hacerlo. Tan solo espero que al final de esta carta te sientas feliz, pero sobre todo, que cuando la leas teniendo un poco más de edad, puedas comprender lo que tú significas en mi vida. Es sencillamente imposible describirlo en palabras, y esta ligera impotencia, la sentirá cualquier padre que me esté leyendo. De igual forma, prometo hacer mi mejor esfuerzo...

Antho, mi pequeña niña hermosa, supe por primera vez de ti hace ya 8 años y medio en el pasado. Desde que sospechaba que venías en camino, hasta ver tus hermosos ojitos negros y ese rostro precioso que siempr te ha caracterizado por primera vez. Muchas veces me preguntaron, que si pudiera escoger entre una niña y un niño, ¿lo hubiese hecho? Mi respuesta siempre ha sido la misma: "No. Porque desde siempre estuve segura de que tendría una niña". Mi vida no era mejor sin ti, amor mío. Todo lo contrario, creo que he aprendido a conocer aspectos que sólo descubres que eres capaz de vivir, sentir y experimentar cuando eres madre...

IMG_20230423_151837155~2.jpg

Photos taken by me

The first thing I will describe for you is the fear... Before becoming a mother, of course there are some fears. But they are all mundane, vain. Back and forth. In other words, none of them are really worth it if you look closely. But once you have a cutie like you inside of you, and in your arms, you just pray to life to have the privilege of being able to be by your side for as long as possible. You see, my child, a mother is not only what you see every day. It's also what you can't imagine....

Like thinking every night before going to sleep: "Is my daughter a happy child?" "How can I teach her everything she needs to know in her life, without putting too much pressure on her?" And even more overwhelming is knowing that someday you will have to suffer... Dear beloved daughter, there are fears that will never leave you from the moment you bring a child into this world. But on the other hand, there are also wonderful things. Like the sound of your charming smile with laughter. I swear that seeing you happy is something I couldn't describe, even if I wanted to, but it's the fuel that makes all the sacrifices worth it.

Lo primero que describiré para ti, es el temor... Antes de ser madre, por supuesto que existen algunos miedos. Pero todos ellos son mundanos, vanidosos. De ida y vuelta. Es decir, ninguna vale realmente la pena si se analiza detenidamente. Pero una vez que tienes a una preciosidad como tu dentro de ti, y en tus brazos, solo ruegas a la vida tener el privilegio de poder estar a tu lado el mayor tiempo posible. Verás, mi niña, una madre no es tan solo lo que ves a diario. Es también lo que no te imaginas...

Como pensar todas las noches antes de dormir: "¿Es mi hija, una niña feliz?" "¿Cómo hago para enseñarle todo lo que necesita saber en su vida, sin presionarla demasiado?" Y más todavía, agobiante es saber que algún día habrás de sufrir... Querida hija amada, hay miedos que jamás te abandonaran desde el instante que traes a una criaturita a este mundo. Pero por otro lado, también hay cosas maravillosas. Como el sonido de tu encantadora sonrisa a carcajadas. Te juro que verte feliz es algo que no podría describir, aunque quisiera, pero que es el combustible que hace que todos los sacrificios valgan la pena.

IMG_20230227_200708_623.jpg

Photos taken by me

They say that parents love their children through sharing with them. That is, it is impossible to love what you have not been able to feel, see, perceive and care for physically. And without wanting to read me corny or exaggerate, let me tell you that I have loved you since I knew I was pregnant. I always felt a powerful connection with you, my love. And I believe that through the years that I have been by your side, with you, in all your moments, you have recognized that my love for you is stainless.

While at times I may seem inflexible, harsh and short-tempered, I want you to know that it has never been personal with you. You will understand when you are an adult and know that the responsibilities that come with adulthood are sometimes too overwhelming and stressful. However, you and only you are the most beautiful thing I've ever had. And you may think it's a cliché that all mothers and fathers tell their children (and you may be right), but if you ever decide to have a child, you'll understand as well as I do, beautiful daughter.

Dicen que los padres aman a sus hijos a través de compartir con ellos. Es decir, que es imposible amar lo que no has podido sentir, ver percibir y cuidar físicamente. Y sin ánimos de leerme cursi o de exagerar, déjame decirte que yo a ti, te he amado desde que supe que estaba embarazada. Siempre sentí una conexión poderosa contigo, amor mío. Y creo que a través de los años que he estado a tu lado, contigo, en todos tus momentos, has sabido reconocer que mi amor por ti es inoxidable.

Si bien, a veces puedo parecer inflexible, dura y de mal genio, quiero que sepas que jamás ha sido personal para contigo. Lo entenderás cuando seas adulta y sepas que las responsabilidades que conlleva la adultez suelen ser, a veces, demasiado contundentes y estresantes. Sin embargo, tú y sólo tú eres lo más hermoso que he tenido. Y quizá pienses que es algo cliché que todas las madres o padres, suelen decirle a sus hijos (y quizá tengas bastante razón) pero si decides tener un hijo alguna vez, lo entenderás tan bien como yo lo comprendo, hijita hermosa.

untitled.gif

You know what the worst thing is? The passage of time, fatty. You kids grow up so fast that it seems like some kind of cruel magic. One day you don't reach a place in the kitchen and the next, you're the ones who surpass us in height, strength and everything... It's unbelievable. Likewise, I will never forget all the shenanigans you've pulled, my beautiful girl. From jumping for hours, to thinking the garden walls were your drawing pad. You were always naughty but it was also impossible not to spoil you. Being so beautiful, noble, adorable and sweet. Sometimes I think, "how could I, create something as beautiful as her"?

I still can't find answers to that question.... To tell you the truth, I'm not mortified to find one either. I just enjoy my experience being your mom. And I wouldn't change it for the world. You'll notice that the hard, tough and less sweetened aspects of being a mother are not here. And you're right if you notice them. I have deliberately left them behind, because whoever is a mother will never notice the sacrifices or the less sweet moments. On the contrary, the only thing we keep in our retina is the love, the sweetness and the image of our little ones. At least, I do and so I will always remember you, beloved daughter.

I have decided to write this little letter because it works for me for this community in HIVE but also as a timeless testimony that, I hope, one day you will be able to read and it will bring you some smiles. I love you very much, little treasure. And every time you need me, I hope to be by your side, there for you. Unconditionally. Because that's another lesson you must learn, my love. The only love you will ever know that will love you without limits will be mom. It's a little sad if you analyze it closely, but at the same time it's what unites us with our parents. I love you, my love. And I hope I am enough for you...

¿Sabes qué es lo peor de todo? El paso del tiempo, gordita. Ustedes, los niños, crecen tan rápido que parece una especie de magia cruel. Un día no alcanzan un lugar en la cocina y al otro, son ustedes quienes nos superan en altura, fuerza y todo... Es increíble. De igual manera, jamás olvidaré todas las travesuras que has hecho, mi niña hermosa. Desde saltar por horas, hasta pensar que las paredes del jardín eran tu block de dibujos. Siempre fuiste una traviesa pero también era imposible no consentirte. Siendo tan hermosa, noble, adorable y dulce. A veces pienso, "¿cómo pude yo, crear algo tan hermoso como ella"?

Aún no hallo respuestas a esa pregunta... A decir verdad, tampoco me mortifica dar con una. Solo disfruto de mi experiencia siendo tu mamá. Y no lo cambiaría por nada del mundo. Notarás que acá no están los aspectos duros, fuertes y menos edulcorados de ser madre. Y haces bien si llegas a notarlo. Deliberadamente los he dejado atrás, porque quien es madre jamás notará los sacrificios o los momentos menos dulces. Todo lo contrario, lo único que guardamos en la retina es el amor, la dulzura y la imagen de nuestros pequeños. Al menos, yo lo hago y así siempre te recordaré, hija amada.

He decidido hacer esta pequeña carta porque me funciona para esta comunidad en HIVE pero también como testimonios atemporal que, espero, algún día seas capaz de leer y te provoque ciertas sonrisas. Te amo muchísimo, pequeño tesoro. Y cada vez que me necesites, espero estar a tu lado, allí para ti. Incondicionalmente. Porque esa es otra enseñanza que debes aprender, amor mío. El único amor que conocerás que te amará sin límites será mamá. Es un poco triste si lo analizas detenidamente, pero al mismo tiempo es lo que nos une con nuestros padres. Te amo, mi amor. Y espero ser suficiente para ti...

IMG_20230719_214448964.jpg

Photos taken by me

Thank you for reaching out and reading the post! If you liked it, please comment, like, share and share, please

GIFs by Tenor

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now