"Reflections on Concern for my Son Sebastian: A Special Bond in the Face of a Challenging Prognosis".

20240108_151504_0000.png


ENG 🇺🇲

Life gives us unexpected turns, many constant challenges, some more difficult than others, I am a mother of two children but one of them suffers from a degenerative disease called Multiple Congenital Arthrogryposis, this disease causes his joints to atrophy that is to say harden, so he always has to be living with physical therapy, corrective interventions, as in his hips, his feet, his hands, My son has had 11 surgeries, but he has achieved many of the things that the doctors told me he would never do, he has been able to walk, in his own way but he does it, he runs, he plays soccer, he has developed very well becoming more independent every day, he is very intelligent, he likes to study and learn about everything, he talks a lot, he is the best friend of his friends, many people love him very much, and of course I as a mother love him infinitely.

ESP 🇪🇸

La vida nos da giros inesperados, muchos retos constantes, unos más difíciles que otros, soy madre de dos hijos pero uno de ellos sufre de una enfermedad degenerativa llamada Artrogriposis Congénita Múltiple, esta enfermedad hace que sus articulaciones se atrofien es decir se endurezcan, por lo cual siempre tiene que estar viviendo con fisioterapia, intervenciones correctivas, como en sus caderas, sus pies, sus manos. Mi hijo ha tenido 11 cirugías, pero ha logrado muchas de las cosas que los médicos me decían que nunca haría, ha podido caminar, a su manera pero lo hace, corre, juega fútbol, se ha desarrollado muy bien haciéndose cada día más independiente, es muy inteligente, le gusta estudiar y aprender de todo, habla mucho, es el mejor amigo de sus amigos, mucha gente lo quiere mucho, y por supuesto yo como madre lo amo infinitamente.


Brown White Clean Grid Interior Design Business Facebook Post (1920 × 1400 _20240108_171023_0000.png


Sebastian in his first days of life was diagnosed with pulmonary arterial hypertension, and in Venezuela the doctors told me that he would only live 2 years of age, his treatments were with vasodilators and oxygen, but at that time I did not stay with only one opinion of the doctors, something in me told me that my son did not have this disease, I sought other opinions, and a doctor told me that he no longer suffered from it, she sent him to remove the oxygen and vasodilators (Sildenafil).
Fearfully I did what she recommended, and my son was able to breathe without becoming cyanotic, to which I was able to deduce that miracles do exist and that he is one of them. Every year we have to do different things to my son, corrections such as tendon extensions among other things, but the situation in Venezuela was complicated as many already know and I left my country in search of new options for our family and especially for my Sebastian. All the time he has had consultation with cardiologists because another anecdote is that the shape of his heart is different, but the doctor said it was normal for him, one of the concerns for that part was the development of his body because he had his rib cage very small for his age and the doctor told me that he had to do other type of exercises to help develop it like swimming and push-ups, he himself today does push-ups as he can too, nadar se le hizo difícil.

Sebastián en sus primeros días de vida fue diagnosticado con hipertensión arterial pulmonar, y en Venezuela los médicos me dijeron que solo viviría 2 años de edad, sus tratamientos eran con vasodilatadores y oxígeno, pero en ese momento no me quedé con una sola opinión de los médicos, algo en mi me decía que mi hijo no tenía esta enfermedad, busqué otras opiniones, y una doctora me dijo que ya no la padecía, le mandó a quitar el oxígeno y los vasodilatadores (Sildenafil).
Temerosa hice lo que me recomendó, y mi hijo pudo respirar sin ponerse cianótico, a lo que pude deducir que los milagros existen y que él es uno de ellos. Desde que le quitaron todas esas cosas pudo tener cirugías y fisioterapia toda su vida, cada año tenemos que hacerle diferentes cosas a mi hijo, correcciones como extensiones de tendones entre otras cosas, pero la situación en Venezuela era complicada como muchos ya saben y salí de mi país en busca de nuevas opciones para nuestra familia y en especial para mi Sebastián. Todo el tiempo ha tenido consulta con cardiólogos porque otra anécdota es que la forma de su corazón es diferente, pero el doctor dijo que era normal para él, una de las preocupaciones por esa parte era el desarrollo de su cuerpo porque tenía su caja torácica muy pequeña para su edad y el doctor me dijo que tenía que hacer otro tipo de ejercicios para ayudar a desarrollarla como natación y lagartijas, él mismo hoy en día hace lagartijas como puede también,nadar se le hizo difícil.


IMG-20230515-WA0013.jpg


IMG-20230610-WA0002.jpg


My son today is 15 years old, and he still continues his struggle, he cannot bend down because he does not bend one of his knees, and he cannot open his legs, everything is a little complicated, but he does most of his things, he can walk, go up and down stairs, he can eat by himself, he can dress almost everything, the only thing he cannot do until now is to put on socks and shoes, he always tells me mom do not miss me until I can put on my shoes.

I have been here in Brazil for two years, since we arrived we have been doing medical consultations, therapies, he does a lot of exercises, he keeps seeing pediatricians, cardiologists and others, the first year here he only had an electrocardiogram, everything is going well.

Mi hijo hoy tiene 15 años, y todavía sigue su lucha, no puede agacharse porque no dobla una de sus rodillas, y no puede abrir las piernas, todo es un poco complicado, pero hace la mayoría de sus cosas, puede caminar, subir y bajar escaleras, puede comer solo, puede vestirse casi todo, lo único que no puede hacer hasta ahora es ponerse medias y zapatos, siempre me dice mamá no me faltes hasta que pueda ponerme los zapatos.

Hace dos años que estoy aquí en Brasil, desde que llegamos hacemos consultas médicas, terapias, hace muchos ejercicios, sigue viendo pediatras, cardiólogos y otros, el primer año aquí solo le hicieron un electrocardiograma, todo iba bien.


IMG_20231203_190207.jpg


But a few months ago he showed a lot of anxiety, and woke up at night as if he was scared screaming, calling me and his dad, asking me for help, his heart was racing as if he had run a marathon, and almost without breathing, I did breathing exercises to calm him down, once he calmed down he would tell me _Mommy I'm afraid to sleep! I would ask him what was wrong and he would tell me that suddenly his breathing would stop and his chest would tighten and he would wake up scared because he couldn't breathe, I assumed it was sleep paralysis or something else, but these episodes also happened during the day, for these reasons I went to the doctor, and they ordered him to have an echocardiogram.

Pero hace unos meses mostraba mucha ansiedad, y se despertaba por las noches como asustado gritando, llamándome a mí y a su papá, pidiéndome ayuda, su corazón se aceleraba como si hubiera corrido una maratón, y casi sin respirar, yo le hacía ejercicios de respiración para calmarlo, una vez que se calmaba me decía _¡Mami tengo miedo de dormir! Yo le preguntaba que le pasaba y me decía que de repente se le paraba la respiración y se le oprimía el pecho y se despertaba asustado porque no podía respirar, supuse que era parálisis del sueño u otra cosa, pero esos episodios también le pasaban durante el día, por estos motivos fui al médico, y le mandaron hacer un ecocardiograma.


IMG_20231010_093602.jpg


In the middle of the study the doctor tells me that his heart is not in a normal position but I told her that I had already been told that it was different but that it was normal for him, and she continues doing her study in detail and tells me that he has Mild Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension, but even if it is mild it must be treated because it is very dangerous.

The news came as a tidal wave of overwhelming emotions and concerns. My mind is full of unanswered questions and my heart is torn between worry and hope. I have gone from disbelief to gradual acceptance. I really did not expect this new challenge. This disease, pulmonary arterial hypertension, affects the arteries leading from the heart to the lungs.

En mitad del estudio la doctora me dice que su corazón no está en posición normal pero yo le dije que ya me habían dicho que era diferente pero que era normal en él, y ella sigue haciendo su estudio con todo lujo de detalles y me dice que tiene Hipertensión Arterial Pulmonar Leve, pero que aunque sea leve hay que tratarlo porque es muy peligroso.

La noticia llegó como un maremoto de emociones y preocupaciones abrumadoras. Mi mente está llena de preguntas sin respuesta y mi corazón se debate entre la preocupación y la esperanza. He pasado de la incredulidad a la aceptación gradual. Realmente no me esperaba este nuevo reto. Esta enfermedad, la hipertensión arterial pulmonar, afecta a las arterias que van del corazón a los pulmones.


IMG_20230508_205628.jpg


Today I am here sharing in this supportive community of mothers and fathers my story, I would like to know if anyone has faced a challenge like this I want to know your experiences, and some advice. I am here thinking that hope is a powerful force even though the prognosis may be challenging, I know there are medical advances that offer a glimmer of hope for the future and we are committed to exploring all available options.

My hope is that this story can be a source of support for others facing a similar situation, the journey is not easy but with information and follow up, it brings me closer to understanding, acceptance and strength and it all goes hand in hand with my God. Later I will be writing about the follow-ups that my son will have on the 15th of this month, he will have an electrocardiogram and then his treatment, but I have been thinking about seeking other opinions again.

With this I bid you all farewell until another opportunity, wishing you many blessings and health, which is the most important thing.

Hoy estoy aquí compartiendo en esta comunidad solidaria de madres y padres mi historia, me gustaría saber si alguien se ha enfrentado a un reto como este quiero conocer de sus experiencias, y algún consejo. Estoy aquí pensando que la esperanza es una fuerza poderosa aunque el pronóstico pueda ser desafiante, sé que hay avances médicos que ofrecen un rayo de esperanza para el futuro y estamos comprometidos a explorar todas las opciones disponibles.

Mi esperanza es que esta historia pueda ser una fuente de apoyo para otras personas que se enfrentan a una situación similar, el viaje no es fácil pero con información y seguimiento, me acerca a la comprensión, la aceptación y la fuerza y todo va de la mano de mi Dios. Mas adelante estaré escribiendo de los seguimientos que se le harán a mi hijo el 15 de este mes le toca electrocardiograma y luego colocarán su tratamiento, pero he estado pensando en buscar nuevamente otras opiniones.

Con esto me despido de todos ustedes hasta otra oportunidad, deseándoles muchas bendiciones y salud, que es lo más importante.


IMG_20230702_183347.jpg


My Content is original
The photographs are my property
Canva pro resources

Mi contenido es original
Las fotografías son de mi propiedad
Recursos de Canva pro

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center