[ENG/ESP] S.O.S. How to handle my two-year-old's tantrum. /S.O.S. Cómo manejar el berrinche de mi nena de dos años.

picsart_22_05_30_19_52_42_667.jpg

image.png

I remember dealing with two or three tantrums with my older son when he was around two years old, and both of them were a matter of not knowing how to handle both my and my child's frustration. My son was always quite docile and manageable, and now that he is six years old he surprises me more and more with the way he can handle a conversation and tense situations; he has surprised me with phrases like: Can you listen to me? or Can you let me talk? And then he forces me to let my guard down and give him the right to explain what happened and to be heard.

Recuerdo haber afrontado dos o tres berrinches con mi hijo mayor cuando tenía alrededor de dos años, y en ambos fue cuestión de no haber sabido manejar la frustración de ambos, tanto la del niño como la mía. Mi hijo siempre fue bastante dócil y manejable, y ahora que tiene seis años cada vez me sorprende más con la forma en que puede manejar una conversación y las situaciones tensas; él me a sorprendido con frases como: ¿Me puedes escuchar? Ó ¿Me puedes dejar hablar? Y entonces me obliga a bajar la guardia y a darle el derecho de explicar lo acontecido y a ser escuchado.

image.png

With my two year old daughter Rafaella it is another world, and I have repeatedly said to myself, I should not compare them, but it is almost inevitable to make the comparison, because it is assumed that past experiences could be useful to handle present situations with my daughter, but no, I am wrong, they are poles apart, two totally different characters and almost nothing of what I applied with Carlos has helped me with Rafaella. With her I have to start inventing new strategies and in a previous post I talked about the fears that invade us when we are parents, emphasizing my son who is growing up, but now seeing how things are going with Rafaella, that really intimidates me.

Con mi hija Rafaella de dos años es otro mundo, y repetidas veces me he dicho a mi misma, no debo compararlos, pero es casi inevitable hacer la comparación, pues es de suponer que las experiencias pasadas podrían servir para manejar situaciones presentes con mi hija, pero no, me equivoco, ellos son polos opuestos, dos caracteres totalmente diferentes y casi nada de lo que apliqué con Carlos me ha servido con Rafaella. Con ella tengo que empezar a inventar nuevas estrategias y en un post anterior hablaba sobre los temores que nos invaden cuando somos padres, haciendo énfasis en mi hijo que está creciendo, pero ahora viendo como van las cosas con Rafaella, eso sí que realmente me intimida.

image.png

If you are already a little curious to know what this little girl does that scares me, I will go into some details, which will probably make you laugh, like me at the moment, but this is serious friends, I have to start dealing with this character of my daughter. For example: yesterday she went into the bathroom and I ask her from the kitchen: Rafaella, what are you doing? And she answers me: NA-DAAA, like this....en syllables and with several "A" at the end. What two year old responds like this? Tell me if the same thing happens to them, then I will be calmer.

Si ya se sienten algo curiosos por saber qué es lo que hace esta niña que a mí me asusta, entraré en algunos detalles, que probablemente les de risa, como a mí en el momento, pero esto es serio amigos, tengo que empezar a tratar este carácter de mi hija. Por ejemplo: ayer se metió en el baño y le pregunto desde la cocina: ¿Rafaella, qué haces? Y me responde: NA-DAAA, así....en sílabas y con varias "A" al final. ¿Qué niño de dos años responde así? Dígame si les pasa lo mismo, entonces estaré más tranquila.

img_20220530_192701.jpg

image.png

That same day, during the almost daily tantrum and throwing some things on the floor that were on the furniture where I sat her: I crouched down in front of her and asked her: "What's wrong, why are you upset? And she answered: "I don't want to talk to you". What to do when a little one responds like that, to me it leaves me out of focus, you know why: because if it were someone else's child I would easily say, well, the anger will pass or I will leave him sitting there until he feels calmer, but in my life this is transcendental if it is not treated in time. When it is my daughter who says these things to me I wonder what she is going to say to me later, and now that she has started kindergarten, and starts copying behaviors and phrases, what will she come up with? With her it is not so easy to mediate, for her there are no alternatives but to get what she wants. That is her goal, outside of that there is no reasoning that counts. And I, as a mother and the one who shapes her as a person, cannot give in to any whim.

Ese mismo día, durante el berrinche casi cotidiano y lanzar algunas cosas al piso que estaban en el mueble donde la senté: me quedé agachada frente a ella y le pregunté: ¿Qué pasa, porqué estás molesta? Y me respondió: "No te quiero hablar". Qué hacer cuando un pequeñito te responde así, a mí me deja fuera de foco, saben por qué?: Por que si fuese el hijo de otra persona fácilmente diría, bueno ya se le pasará el enojo o lo dejaré sentado allí hasta que se sienta más calmado, pero en mi vida esto es transcendental sino se trata a tiempo. Cuando es mi hija quien me dice esas cosas me pregunto qué irá a decirme más adelante, y ahora que empezó en el jardín, y comience a copiar conductas y frases con qué me va a salir? Con ella no es tan sencillo mediar, para ella no hay alternativas más que conseguir lo que quiere. Ese es su objetivo, fuera de allí no hay razonamiento que valga. Y yo como madre y formadora de su persona no puedo ceder ante cualquier capricho.

image.png

Observing my daughter I see so many qualities in her character, she is spontaneous, very sociable, expresses herself easily, learns very fast and is so independent that she learned to use the toilet since she was one year old and to eat by herself. But those same qualities are what lead her to get frustrated quickly, she wants to be in control of things, she is dominant, she wants to decide on her own and she is not the type of child who obeys the first two warnings, she just pretends not to listen. Wow, my daughter is the biggest challenge I have ever had. I come from raising one of the most docile and reasonable children I know and I have many nieces and nephews, but now I have to step out of my comfort zone and roll up my sleeves if I want to keep things from getting out of control.

Al observar a mi hija veo tanta cualidades en su carácter, es espontánea, muy sociable, se expresa con facilidad, aprende muy rápido y es tan independiente que aprendió a usar el baño desde que tiene un año y a comer sola. Pero esas mismas cualidades son las que la llevan a frustrarse rápidamente, ella quiere tener el control de las cosas, es dominante, quiere decidir por si sola y no es de los niños que obedecen a las dos primeras advertencias, ella simplemente simula no escuchar. Vaya, mi hija es el reto más grande que me ha tocado. Vengo de estar formando a uno de los niños más dóciles y razonables que conozco y tengo muchos sobrinos, pero ahora me toca salir de mi zona de confort y arremangarme la camisa si quiero que las cosas no se me salgan de control.

image.png

img_20220324_121801.jpg

image.png

I look to my husband for support, but he has a meltdown and although he sometimes puts his foot down, he almost always ends up giving in to his whims. I don't want to assume the role of the bad mom, as Rafaella has already named me many times, I don't want her to see me that way and I don't want her to grow up with that appreciation. She will not always be a baby, it would be easy if that were the case, but what worries me is that when she starts to grow up there will also be an abyss due to the lack of communication and understanding that exists between us today. That's the crux of the matter, we still don't know how to communicate and the frustrations are getting to both of us, she ends up in one more tantrum and I stand in front of her without knowing how to appease her anger and crying without succumbing to her whims.

Busco apoyo en mi esposo, pero lo tiene derretido y aunque en algunas ocasiones se pone firme, casi siempre termina cediendo ante sus caprichos. Yo no quiero asumir el papel de la mamá mala, como ya Rafaella me ha nombrado muchas veces, no quiero que me vea de esa manera y menos que crezca teniendo esa apreciación. Ella no siempre va a ser una bebé, sería fácil si así fuera, pero lo que precisamente me preocupa es que cuando empiece a crecer también crezca un abismo por la falta de comunicación y comprensión que hoy existe entre nosotras. He allí el meollo del asunto, aún no sabemos comunicarnos y la frustraciones nos aborda a ambas, ella termina en un berrinche más y yo parada frente a ella sin saber cómo apaciguar su ira y el llanto sin sucumbir ante sus caprichos.

image.png

img_20220530_192758.jpg

image.png

img_20220530_192614.jpg

image.png

And so another day passes in our house, with Rafaella asleep tired of crying, me feeling frustrated for not knowing how to help her control her anger and the neighbors irritated by the noisy girl with a charming face that the next morning greets them with a: "Hello Neighbor", as if nothing had happened, and to them as to me there is nothing left but to tell them with a smile: "Hello, my love".

I say goodbye until next time friends.


Y así pasa un día más en nuestra casa, con Rafaella dormida cansada de llorar, yo sintiéndome frustrada por no haber sabido ayudarla a controlar su enojo y los vecinos irritados por la ruidosa niña de cara encantadora que a la mañana siguiente los saluda con un: "Hola Vecino", como si nada hubiera pasado, y a ellos como a mí no les queda nada más que decirles con una sonrisa: "Hola, mi amor".

Me despido hasta la próxima amigos.

image.png

img_20220331_233819.jpg

image.png

Para traducir utilice: Traductor DeepL
Imágenes editadas en: Canva
Fotos tomadas con mi teléfono redmi 10

image.png

Text translated in: DeepL Translate
Images edited in: Canva
Photos taken with my redmi 10 phone.

image.png

modi.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center