My Surroundings; Comfort Isn't What Should Be Pursued But Created.

I uphold a school of thought that, ones surroundings has remarkable impacts on one's everyday life.

A child who has lived in the slum all his(her) life will jettison the fables and fallacious sayings that, "village is where life start and ends" when he(she) taste the sweet - sour life in the metropolis in other words,ones surroundings have the ability to either retard one's mentality or accelerate it; "we all see the world through the lenses of where we've been and where we currently are".

I once watched a movie when i was younger titled, "In pursuit of happiness,I'm a little bit surprised to still have a scanty overview of the movie, it been more than a decade since have watched it. The movie portrayed a man who literally did everything with his invention just give his son and wife a better life but, all to no avail. This is simply means that "happiness or comfort shouldn't be pursued but created"

When I at first, got to my current residence where I would be performing my one year of National Service my expectations about how I planned to give back to my country using this community has a point of contact, plummeted to zero,I felt all my hope sporadically got dashed and this community?Is just the beginning of my rock bottom journey.
Is the community that bad? Yeah! is that bad,it's nothing like where I'm coming from or where have been.
I pleaded with the management of where I was being posted to that, she should give me a rejection but,she was bent on "We need your service here" ,"* I don't give rejection letter". I gave up and started thinking,weighing the prospectives of my survival for the next one year.
"
There's no stable network coverage"
'
No power supply"
"
No portable borehole water"
"
No relatives nor friends" It just me,amidst all of these and my instinct to survive no matter what.
"
How do I survive*"? I asked myself countless times but the more I asked myself,the more I wept inside of me.

How did I survived? How did I gained comfort?

  • I find peace within myself so as to have the comfort I want.
  • I was positive/assertive to survive no matter what and the makes my stay here count for good.
  • I began to make friends with my flat mates(who are serving like I am) and everyone I came in close contact with, within the environment.
  • I maintained a clean environment and even created a sweeping roaster to that effect.
  • I know I needed a lively workplace environment that will boost my productivity so, I enable.

In couple of weeks, I will be done with the programme and I will have to say farewell to this place, I'm already planning that, although I do not know how well that would go because now, I feel so comfortable here than to just leave.
I'm gonna miss the people and the place!

© Medemausi

This is my entry for #julyinleo prompt, day 6.

The pictures are mine.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now