When I smell Christmas.

It's already mid November, in a few weeks time we'll be in December.
For me December is one of my most desired month or should I say the most anticipated month, maybe the best of all the months in the year.

premium_photo-1664883000601-8190b1933c00.jpeg
Christmas

One of the things I miss so much about being a child is the anticipation that comes with this festive period. As a child in this part of the world were I come from, it's that time of the year when you're sure you're going to get a new cloth, new shoes, new belt, new cap, new wrist watch, new eye glasses and for sure new toys.

Apart from the new wears you get during Christmas, one of the things I anticipate so much is the special food that our parents prepare for Christmas day celebration. Its one of those special occasions that Dad decides to do the cooking himself. And yeah, the old man can cook so well, at least he was younger when we were younger(I don drop rhymes).

Just reminds me of those times when he cooks and if the taste of the food doesn't come out as good as he hyped it, especially when mum and the girls would be laughing at him, he would blame the ingredients, or maybe the person that boiled the meat put too much salt and pepper in it.

But this days I hardly even get any new clothes for Christmas, if you would have anything new you'll have to hustle and get it yourself, well maybe I should miss being a child after all, Adulthood na scam las las.. sorry let's talk about Christmas, who send old man like me hehe.

Back in those days I was the one in charge of any killing of animals that is to be done in the house, be it chicken or turkey, any animal at all, no one drags the job with me. My own job starts a day or two before Christmas, ranging from chasing the local chicken we would use to augment the agric chicken, to slaughtering them on the morning of Christmas, I was that heartless, I could kill anything killable hehe. And yeah I loved meat then, especially the chicken head, as the killer that one was my portion that no one drags with me, then other parts of the chicken can now come on.
Thinking about the fact that I use to like chicken head really makes me laugh now because I can't even catch myself eating the head of a chicken now.

Another part of Christmas I use to love so much then was visiting favourite uncle's and aunties and the additional gift they give you, especially the monetary gifts. By January the next year we would be checking who have gotten the highest amount of money. That's how we use to become the raining boys in town those days. I know this Indomie generation of nowadays don't do such things anymore, but seriously the OG's here will agree with me that they are missing out on a lot of fun hehe.

Maybe it's too early to talk about Christmas but you wouldn't blame me, it's the season. Christmas period comes with an entirely different atmosphere, the anticipation used to be so high, I don't know if it's same for children of nowadays but when I smell Christmas, I also smell rice and stew, different other delicacies, so much meat and drinks, new wears, new places to visit, free money, etc. I don't know about you what do you remember when you smell Christmas ??.

Thank you for your time checking out this blog. Your comment is highly appreciated, tell me as an adult what do remember when you smell Christmas ?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now