Twice Beaten, Twice Shy.


Skitterphoto

While trying to make this fun post, my phone slipped from my hands and fell to the tiled floor, and went blank almost immediately. I became dumb, speechless for a moment. I didn't know what my next move would be. I just stood there, akimbo. After what seemed like an eternity, I gained consciousness and awoke to reality. Yes, my phone is broken and my world has become as empty as the air.

I knew it would cost money to put this phone back in shape but the engineer who would work on it is who I don't know and what he or she would be bringing. As early as Sunday morning, I swung into action to repair the phone plus meet up with church activity.

Sir, your bill is 15k

With my eye bulging from the socket, I looked at him and responded

You say what?

A beam of smile radiated on his face, for me, it indicated that he had caught a bug fish and he was ready to go feasting.

Never mind, let me have the phone

My response came as a rude shock to him. He thought I would have swallowed his charge hook, line, and sinker. Though I was desperate to have my phone repaired, I would not allow myself to be cheated.

I stepped to the next shop, there I met a very young dude who must be in his early twenties. He was working on an iPhone. I knew at once the chap would be able to handle my stuff. After explaining my predicament, he didn't hesitate to look at me, all h said was:

Boss, your bill is 9.5k

Oh yeah, this was the right place. Before I could mention Adam, my phone had come back alive and I was on my way to church but I had to take the same route I came through back to work.

As I marched back towards the church, the first dude I met called on me

Sir, come and have it done for 12k

With a wicked smile, I looked at him and handed the phone to him. He pressed the ON button and saw that the phone was alright.

Wow. You have done it already.

He asked. Probably knowing that I did it for a cheaper price.

As you can see. Just for 5k

I said, teasing him.

Those wait-and-get engineers will only end up complicating issues for your phone.

I was almost getting double-minded over this statement. He could be right and my phone may be at the detriment of a total collapse. I started to feel like this guy was working on my psyche. It was at this moment that I realized that my phone had been done, once and for all.

The wait-and-get engineer did a thorough job. My phone is in perfect shape.

He looked at me with some kind of fainted hope to get me to give him the contract to touch my phone. I just stretched out my hands and got my phone, then I said to him:

Great engineer. I will see you some other time.

I walked away after that short conversation. Our workers meeting in the church will end in another five minutes, that Is enough for me to meet up.

Immediately, a taxi going my way arrived, as I flagged it down, the phone dropped from my pocket, the new screen which was without a guard was smashed into pieces again.

Reluctantly, I picked the debris of my phone and boarded the taxi, ten minutes later, I got to church. The workers were having an intense worship encounter, silently, I joined them. Soon, the session ended.

Bro Andy, why did you come late?

My pastor asked me, like he had been watching out for my arrival.

My phone

Everyone in the church started to laugh. What have I said that is funny? Just as they continued laughing, I noticed my hand was up with the smashed phone. What a day I had. I repaired the phone though, it was double expenses for me, an unplanned one at that.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center