A funny way to be embarrased (ENG/ESP)


This is a true story about how I met Murphy's Law, the one that says that when something can go wrong, it will go wrong.

I was about 8 years old and my mom asked me to go to the bakery. I was dressed in the worst possible way to go out, but since I was at home I didn't care much about my appearance.

I agreed to do the shopping, but I refused to change my clothes, after all ... the bakery was two minutes from home, I didn't have to cross the street and being in the city center, nobody would detail my step on the way among so many people.

But I couldn't be more wrong.

When I took the elevator to go down to the entrance, one of the neighbors recognized me and greeted me, and although a little embarrassed by my clothes, I smiled when I answered.

At that moment I thought it would be better to go back and change, but I was already at the exit, so going back up 9 floors to change and go out again, just for a bag of bread, didn't seem like a very good idea.

With my best face I left the building and walked to the bakery, slipping through the crowd, intending to go unnoticed ... not! I found classmates, friends of my mom, other neighbors and even my music teacher from school !!

Nobody said a word about my beggar's clothes, but their faces said it all.

I got home with my bag of bread, the liter of juice and milk that mom asked me to buy, and the morale on the floor. Immediately I went to take a shower, I changed my clothes for a more presentable one, although I was not going to go out again, and the one I was carrying I put in a separate bag to throw away, give away or whatever mom decided to do with it.

I never told them what had happened to me, to avoid the "I told you so", but even today, 38 years later, it is an event that made a difference.


Esta es una historia de la vida real, de como conocí a la Ley de Murphy, si, la misma que dice que cuando algo puede salir mal, realmente va a salir mal.

Tenía yo unos 8 años y mi mamá me pidió ir a la panadería. Yo estaba vestida de la peor manera posible para salir, pero como estaba en casa no me importaba mucho mi facha.

Accedí a hacer el mandado, pero me negué a cambiarme de ropa, total... la panadería quedaba a dos minutos de casa, no había que cruzar la calle y estando en el centro de la ciudad, nadie iba a detallar mi paso en el camino entre tanta gente.

Pero no podía estar más equivocada.

Ya al tomar el ascensor para bajar a la entrada, una de las vecinas me reconoció y me saludó, y aunque un poco apenada por mi vestimenta, sonreí al responder.

En ese momento pensé que sería mejor regresar y cambiarme, pero ya estaba en la salida, así que volver a subir 9 pisos para cambiarme y volver a salir, solo por una bolsa de pan, no me parecía muy buena idea.

Poniendo mi mejor cara salí del edificio y caminé a la panadería, colándome entre la gente, con la intención de pasar desapercibida... pues no! Encontré compañeras de clases, amigas de mi mamá, otros vecinos y hasta el profesor de música de mi escuela!!

Nadie pronunció palabra alguna sobre mi vestimenta de pordiosera, pero sus caras lo decían todo.

Llegué a casa con mi bolsa de pan, el litro de jugo y de leche que me pidió mamá que comprara, y la moral por el piso. De inmediato me metí a bañar, me cambié la ropa por una más presentable, aunque ya no iba a volver a salir, y la que cargaba la puse en una bolsa aparte para botar, regalar o lo que mamá dispusiera hacer con ella.

Nunca les dije lo que me había pasado, para evitar el "yo te lo dije", pero hasta hoy, 38 años después, es un hecho que marcó la diferencia.


Foto/Photo by: @mamaemigrante
Edición/Edited by @mamaemigrante using Canva
Translated and formatted with Hive Translator by @noakmilo.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now