Day 7 ~ What is My Usual Diet Like



My Usual Diet






~





df.png






HIVERS, hello! 👋


Sometimes back, being conscious about what I was really taking as my diet was not really a thing, eating was rather something we all did without thinking of what it is we are taking as far as at the end you the hunger pangs were satiated. That was always the goal, not the understanding of what it is one was actually taking.

Fast forward a few years, started out different eating habits, experimenting with different diets, and came to observe that many things about a diet actually really mattered, it highly influenced how at the end of the meal I would be feeling, it affected my productivity and even my mood at the end of the day.


Transitioning into an engineering career, meant I was literally what I was eating. Taking foods high up on the Glycemic Index meant high blood sugar levels but that also made me feel foggy and couldn't think clearly as I would have preferred.

Creating a new eating habit was necessary since my new way of living is really different from that of many people, my normal day involves me seating for more than 12 hours, staring at a computer screen, barely moving, trying to either learn something new, practice on some skills, or work on some project and I have to at least make sure I am sharp, and my diet highly influences that.








image.png






My current diet is focused around improving my concentration, help mitigate a deficiency of vitamins caused by my sedentary lifestyle. I do take a lot of flax seeds, and walnuts, which so far have been great at helping my concentration. They are rich in Omega 3 Fatty Acids, I would love to try out some fish, but am very skeptical about the smell of fish but I will work around that in due time.




For the deficiency of vitamins, I take egg yolk and cheese mostly, they are rich in vitamins and they also help with the blood flow to the brain, supplying more Oxygen to my brain cells which is an added advantage.




To avoid weight gain and also help with staining my eyes from staring at a screen for hours, I take a lot of leaf vegetables, a lot of carrots and almonds.

It also helps to reduce the amount of spice and added fats in my diets, I have also greatly reduced the amount of carbs in my meals utilizing rather proteins and fats for my energy needs rather than regular carbohydrates.




Topping it all up, is a mug of some excellent coffee. This is necessary for when I start to feel energy levels dipping and I still have a lot to get done. I tend to have high expectations on myself and even when I don't have a task to deliver I like working on other passion projects. Coffee also greatly helps with those long nights awake, although I try to regulate it to one mug a day to avoid messing with my sleeping patterns.

I also do take a lot of fluids to ensure I remain hydrated. I have to be conscious of this otherwise I will forget and go for a whole day without hydrating, which is of course detrimental in the long term.





In the future I will refine the diet to sort of a more keto diet rather than a regular diet, since regular diets doesn't really agree with my needs, but currently that is a summarized view of my diet.






... see you all in my next update!










Disclaimer:

Images credits: pexels.com




image.png




image.png


peet.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency