A short trip for a father of 4.

I am a father of 4 daughters and I haven't gotten out without the kids since my first daughter was born 6 years ago. Well, last month my dad sent me a message asking me to meet him in golden bc for a weekend of downhill mountain biking and after a couple of days of thinking, my wife convinced me to load up and go. I drove a total of 26 hours to ride for a 6 hour day and It couldn't have been more amazing.

As a teen I was an avid downhill rider and spent every summer travelling the province to ride every hill we could. When I turned 17 I gratuated school and moved 12 hours north into oil country and 5 years later had my 1st beautiful daughter quickly followed by another, a nasty split leaving me with full custody of My two daughters, then a new love and a new stepdaughter. Another year passed and we had another new baby. Life has been great but needless to say I haven't gotten out of this hell hole in a very long time and I haven't had a night away from the kids.

On the drive to golden I remembered that it had been 10 years since I rode down hill or even really rode a bike. I figured, it was just like riding a bike how hard could it be?

After the first 5 minutes of the first run I wasn't sure I'd even survive the day, every muscle in my body was already on fire but I pushed on. By the end of the day I was back on the double black diamonds and rocking it. Life is great, I hope this post gives some other parents that don't get away a little inspiration to make it happen. It was nothing short of amazing to be something other than dad for a day. I've been living in a frozen hell hole for more than 10 years. -50 winters and change is beautiful

IMG_20210828_094615_298.jpg

IMG_20210828_121111_803.jpg

IMG_20210828_095241_227.jpg

IMG_20210829_100501_706.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center