Postcard Beauty of Singapore- Fort Canning

There was one place rumored to be a hidden gem within the lush greenery of Fort Canning area that I missed visiting when I was in Singapore. It piqued my curiosity since I saw it from my friend's Facebook and I decided to come here on my first day back to Singapore last month.


image.png

Located in the heart of Singapore's bustling metropolis, this beautiful place takes visitors on a journey through time and nature. The Fort Canning is an enchanting pathway enclosed by lush greenery and ancient trees transporting us into a different world that when I was here and I didn't think that this scene is in this busy country.

image.png

image.png

image.png


Fort Canning remained the headquarters of the British military operations until the outbreak of Second World War in 1941. During the Japanese invasion of Singapore in Feb 1942, the hill also housed Singapore's largest underground military operations complex. credit

This oasis amidst Singapore's bustling cityscape holds a significant part of the nation and today, it's a very popular spot for locals and tourists alike.

I took train to Dhoby Gaut MRT station on this day. Then I walked for a few minutes to find this Tree Tunnel. With its captivating view, it comes as no surprise that many visitors flock to this site solely to capture the perfect snapshot. There were many people dressing nicely and waiting to take pictures of themselves with the view. It was 33 degrees but I felt very hot like 38 or 40 degrees outside because it was so humid here.

I missed the hot temperature compared to Melbourne but the humanity and the heat combined I'm not sure which I prefer now haha. However, it was great to be back :) However, I didn't want to wear pretty dress nor queue under the hot weather for photograph, lol. I just took some pictures and walked quickly up to the top.


Following the path to the hill on the right, I found myself standing at the edge of a forest peering at the city and my curiosity grew with every step. Such a beautiful park with abundance of sprawling greenery, it's no wonder that Singapore has earned its reputation as one of the greenest and cleanest countries in Asia.


image.png

image.png

image.png

Such a tranquil and picturesque area. Although very hot, I had to stop and enjoyed this utterly magical tropical scenery. Such a difference my world that I had been just a day before.

image.png

Here you can check out the map and read the brief about the attraction's history and some other details of the area.

I ventured deeper into this enchanting area and here I entered into a place where the traffic and urban chaos fades away where history and nature intermingle seamlessly.

Here I reached the Fort Gate area. As I read from information board, this gate was the entrance of a British-built fort completed on this hill in 1860. Fort Canning was built to protect Singapore from seaborne attacks and a second of the fort purpose was to provide refuge for Singapore's European population in the event of local unrest.


image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png


Hidden in the park stands a fort gate with weathered wall, and trees have grown around it marked by the passage of time.

image.png

image.png


It is as if Mother Nature herself has decided to reclaim this beautiful piece of history,

image.png

It's somewhere really different from the bustling and hustling life of Singapore. I can't help but ponder the intriguing stories and secrets that this place must hold.

image.png


Fort Canning is free for all to explore, and it's absolutely worth a visit. It's a wonderful place to walk to enjoy nature, tranquility and enrich Singapore's vibrant past.

image.png


I hope you enjoy this beautiful site of Singapore and thank you for readingπŸ™‚

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center