This content was muted by Worldmappin moderators for not following community guidelines.

Wat Koh Sirey and Phang-Nga Waterfalls in Phuket.

My day yesterday started of quite lazy one of those days where I wanted to do something but could not get myself motivated on the other hand I didn't want to sit around while on my vacation from work and waste a beautiful day so after a good healthy breakfast my brain started scanning to see what I could get up to today and it came to mind that there was a temple up on the hill with some great views to be seen from up there I am always a sucker for great landscape views.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

I needed to hire myself a motorbike for the day that was no drama easily down copy of your passport paid 150 baht ($5 US) and you got yourself a Honda Click for the day. Wat Koh Sirey Temple was only about a 10 km ride from where I was I remember seeing this temple on top of this hill when I was going to the pier to take the boat to Phi Phi Island and I did say to myself I would love to come back here and take a ride up that hill to see that temple and it's views so this was my plan for the day.

10.jpg

11.jpg

12.jpg

14.jpg

15.jpg

16.jpg

This actual Wat Koh Sirey Temple is on an island called Koh Sirey Island the island is only connected by a very short bridge from Phuket Town the island itself is only like 20 km square but a very small charming island with only one foreign resort on this island called Westin Sirey Bay Resort down below around the island it's covered by the Phang-Nga Bay and the road up to the temple is quite smooth and wide it was pleasant ride up.

18.jpg

17.jpg

20.jpg

24.jpg

23.jpg

25.jpg

As your driving up the hill you will see many small shrines along side the roadway these are all little shrines that have been dedicated to people who have passed away there little burial ground in other words and what a view they have amongst the beauty of nature. When you have reached the top of this mountain which took me about 20 minutes on the motorbike winding around the mountain slowly enjoying the views the first temples you come to seem to be more modern style then the temple right up the top point of the mountain.

30.jpg

26.jpg

27.jpg

31.jpg

32.jpg

33.jpg

I quiet liked the look of the old temple better it just had that real old culture look like a hidden monastery in the mountains a sacred place where people would come to be at peace and do there meditation, it had a real spiritual feeling on this mountain and the views looking over Phuket Town seem so peaceful.

35.jpg

36.jpg

37.jpg

41.jpg

43.jpg

42.jpg

There is honestly not much to do here on Koh Sirey Island apart from the seeing the temple and the gypsy village but it is worthwhile seeing for the breathtaking views and if your eager to explore every corner of the island the beach itself on the island is so quiet and looks lonely a perfect spot if you like that tranquility.

48.jpg

44.jpg

45.jpg

47.jpg

49.jpg

46.jpg

After satisfying myself enough with these breathtaking views giving my small donations to the temple I made my way down back down the mountain I was thinking of going further into the town to the fishing port near the Sea Gypsy Village maybe grab a nice fresh seafood lunch but I decided on going to the Phang-Nga Waterfalls which were only a few kilometers from Koh Sirey Temple and a ride through the Phang-Nga town country side looked inviting.

51.jpg

52.jpg

54.jpg

57.jpg

58.jpg

59.jpg

Waterfalls are never hard to find around Phuket Island and at this time of the year they are always at there best being still monsoon period and I always find them to be refreshing I love listening to waterfalls trickling down through the cracks of the mountains.

61.jpg

64.jpg

67.jpg

The day was done it hadn't been a waste of a day from no plans to a mountain top bike ride to catch some sensational views to the refreshing Phang-Nga waterfalls and a bit sight-seeing through the country side turned out quite a productive day and all for the cost of a motor-bike hire and a bit of gasoline it doesn't take much to have a great day in Thailand.

68.jpg

70.jpg

74.jpg

tinman88_9.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center