Trip to Zafra, mountains of Extremadura [Eng][Esp]




ironpagebreak.png


Good day community

One of the natural paths of the routes that came from the north of the country to the area of ​​Andalusia and the southern coast were the mountains and hills to the south of the province of Badajoz, in Extremadura, Spain. My plan is to trace and discover these authentic and typical towns of this region of the country that are little known. The particular charm they possess together with their historical and cultural part makes them objectives of a route that I marked out to know them and recognize them on the map, Zafra is one of them. It is located on the N-432 road that goes from Mérida to Seville. When many people talk about Zafra, they think of sheep, cattle and goats and indeed in this town an important livestock fair is held, known for this world at a national and international level. It is a medium-sized town and it can take about two days to visit and enjoy it, always as a suggestion. The most striking thing about Zafra when you arrive is the Palace of the Dukes of Feria, now a national inn. It hosts cultural activities and events years after having been declared a site of cultural interest.


Uno de los caminos naturales de paso de las rutas que venían desde el norte del país a la zona de Andalucía y la costa del sur eran las sierras y lomas al sur de la provincia de Badajoz, en Extremadura, España. Mi plan es trazar y descubrir estos pueblos auténticos y típicos de esta región del país que son poco conocidos. El encanto particular que poseen junto a su parte histórica y cultural los convierte en objetivos de una ruta que me marcado para conocerlos y reconocerlos en el mapa, Zafra es uno de ellos. Se encuentra situado en la carretera N-432 que va de Mérida a Sevilla. A muchas personas cuando se habla de Zafra les trae el pensamiento de ganado ovino, vacuno y caprino y efectivamente en esta villa se celebra una feria importante de ganado conocida por este mundillo a nivel nacional e internacional. Es una localidad de tamaño medio y puede llevar a recorrerla y disfrutar bien unos dos días, siempre como sugerencia. Lo más llamativo de Zafra al llegar es el Palacio de los Duques de Feria hoy convertido en parador nacional. En él se acogen actividades culturales y eventos años después de haber sido declaro bien de interés cultural.



ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


After touring the entire perimeter of this fabulous castle palace that was originally used as a second residence, I headed towards the center of Zafra to see its streets and main square. I walked along a street full of shops that seemed to take me to the central point of the town. From the end of the street I could see the bell tower of the church that indicated to me that I was on the right path. Sometimes I find myself quite well oriented in some places because there are many references and indicators of where I am going, while other times it is more complicated and I use technology to be able to reach the destinations. This area of ​​the streets of Zafra, before reaching its square, was the focus of my attention. The shop windows seemed very striking to me with typical regional products and others that caught my attention. Once again, the main characteristic that I observed is an architecture very similar to that of this entire region, using white as the main color due to its very special characteristics that make it commonly used in very warm places. The windows and balconies are also very striking for their shape and craftsmanship. My goal of reaching the main square was very close.


Después de recorrer todo el perímetro de este fabuloso castillo palacio que fue usado en principio como segunda residencia me encamine hacia el centro de Zafra para ver sus calles y su plaza mayor. Camine por una calle llena de tiendas que parecía me iba a llevar a el punto central de la villa, desde el fondo de la calle pude ver la torre campanario de la iglesia que me indicaba que estaba en el buen camino. A veces me pasa que en algunos lugares me ubico bastante bien porque hay muchas referencias e indicadores de hacia dónde vas, otra en cambio es más complicado y uso la tecnología para poder llegar a los destinos. Esta zona de las calles de Zafra, antes de llegar a su plaza, centraba mi atención. Los escaparates de las tiendas se me hacían muy llamativos con productos típicos regionales y otros que captaban mi atención. Una vez más la característica principal que observo es una arquitectura muy similar a toda esta región usando el blanco como principal color por sus características tan especiales que le hace de uso común en lugares muy cálidos. Las ventanas y balcones son también muy llamativos por su forma y su artesanía de construcción. Mi objetivo de llegar a la plaza mayor estaba muy cercano.


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png

The main square had an area of ​​arcades around its perimeter and some restaurants, hotels and bars had their terraces. Those arcades with an architectural mix of stone, wood and those domes and umbrella vaults fit in with the rest of the structures and buildings in this square. I could feel and enjoy the life of the people of Zafra and sitting on the terraces I had some very good conversations and made some friends. This is another of the objectives of my trips, to merge and become one with the customs of the places I visit, which enriches me as a person, the variety. This region was not going to be any different and the kindness and special character of the Extremadurans made its appearance once again. I felt like one more in that group that we formed sitting having the aperitif and it was a very special moment for me.



La plaza mayor tenía una zona de soportales en su perímetro y algunos negocios de restaurantes, hoteles y bares ponían sus terrazas. Aquellos soportales con una mezcla arquitectónica de piedra, madera y esas cúpulas y bóvedas de paraguas daban y encajaban con el resto de las estructuras y edificaciones de esta plaza. Podía sentir y disfrutar de la vida de las gentes de Zafra y sentado en las terrazas enlace y tuve algunas muy buenas conversaciones y entable algunas amistades. Este es otro de los objetivos de mis viajes, fundirme y hacer uno con las costumbres de los lugares que visito que me enriquece como persona, la variedad. Esta región no iba a ser menos y la amabilidad y carácter especial de los extremeños hizo su aparición una vez más. Me sentí como uno más en aquel grupo que formamos sentados tomando el aperitivo y fue un momento muy especial para mí.


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png

I was told about a house museum that I should visit and that was very close by, about 200 meters down one of the side streets of the square. The Ajimez house was easy to locate and what caught my attention the most when I arrived were its windows. I went in and a very friendly person from the museum guided me through all the rooms and explained to me the use that was given to that house. Since it was located on Boticas Street, he gave me some clues and then they came to explain to me that it was in the Mudejar style and that it had been a place where chemicals, drugs and measurements were prepared. Inside that staircase and the people in it captured my attention and I couldn't help but take a photo to have a memory of that moment.

Me hablaron de una casa museo que debía visitar y que estaba muy cerca de allí, a unos 200 metros por una de las calles laterales de la plaza. La casa del Ajimez era fácil de localizar y lo que más me llamo la atención cuando llegue fue sus ventanales. Entre y una persona muy amable del museo me guio por todas las estancias y me explico el uso que se le dio a aquella casa. Al estar situada en la calle boticas me daba alguna pista después me vinieron a explicar que era del estilo mudéjar y que había sido lugar donde se preparaban químicos, drogas y mediciones. Por dentro aquella escalera y los personajes que en ella había captaron toda mi atención y no pude más que hacerles una foto para tener un recuerdo de aquel momento.


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png

Church of Santa Maria de la Candelaria / Iglesia de Santa María de la Candelaria


ironpagebreak.png

When I was finishing the visit, the person who was helping me told me about another interesting museum in the town, the Santa Clara Museum. The surprise when I arrived was that it was an old convent that had been renovated and converted into a religious museum. The visit caught my attention because it was not the typical religious museum, it had some unique pieces, such as nuns' outfits, that I had not been able to see in other museums of that nature. Another thing that attracted me was the fabulous architecture of this beautiful place.

Cuando estaba terminando la visita la persona que me atendía me hablo de otro museo de interés en la villa el museo de Santa Clara. La sorpresa al llegar fue que era un viejo convento reformado y reconvertido en museo religioso. La visita llamo mucho mi atención ya que no era el típico museo religioso, tenía algunas piezas únicas, como trajes de monjas, que no había podido ver en otros museos de esas características. Otra de las cuestiones que me atrajo era la arquitectura fabulosa de este precioso sitio.


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


I hope you enjoyed this visit and trip through the mountains of the south of the province of Badajos, this time in the Extremaduran town of Zafra, which I share with you all today in this exciting #worldmappin project in which I participate. I extend an invitation to visit the beautiful places that I present to you. Greetings friends.

Espero que os haya gustado esta visita y viaje por la sierra del sur de la provincia de Badajos, en esta ocasión en la localidad extremeña de Zafra que comparto hoy con todos ustedes en este ilusionante proyecto #worldmappin en el cual participo. Les extiendo una invitación para visitar los bonitos lugares que les presento. Saludos amigos.


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


CategoríaPhototalent
AjustesISO-100 f/8 1/100s
CámaraNikon D7100 - Olympus E410 y Kodak Z
LenteNikkor or Olympus
LocalizaciónSpain



ironpagebreak.png



oscarps qw.png


Image ©oscarps. All Rights Reserved.
Original content by @oscarps


P6120310 - copia - copia.jpg


oscarps.png

Photographic works made in RAW format.

Images edited and converted to JPG format with Photoshop CC by @oscarps

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center