Trip to Arenas de San Pedro, sandbanks in the Sierra de Gredos [Eng][Esp]




ironpagebreak.png


Good day community

One of the themes I usually choose when travelling is a route through the fortresses and castles of this country, as I am determined to create my own record of this type of historical buildings in different areas and their characteristics. The province of Ávila shows some of the best examples of this type of defensive architecture and demonstration of power from different periods and with different mixes of styles. I headed to the southern slopes of the Sierra de Gredos where many of the towns in the area of the valley of the Tiétar River, a tributary of the Tagus, were key points and became for years the borders of Christian Spain to the north and of the Muslim kingdoms to the south of them. The Gredos mountain system is one of the most important and extensive in the country and runs through several provinces such as Madrid, Salamanca, Cáceres and Ávila. The trip I planned took me from Talavera de la Reina along the N-502 and then along the AV-925 road until I reached my destination, Arenas de San Pedro in the autonomous community of Castilla y León.


Una de las temáticas que suelo seleccionar a la hora de viajar es una ruta por las fortalezas y castillos de este país, ya que estoy empeñado en crear un registro propio de este tipo de edificaciones históricas en distintas zonas y sus características. La provincia de Ávila muestra algunos de los mejores ejemplos de este tipo de arquitectura defensiva y demostración de poder de distintas épocas y con diferentes mezclas de estilos. Me dirigí a la falda sur de la Sierra de Gredos donde muchos de los pueblos de la zona del valle del río Tiétar afluente del Tajo eran puntos claves y se convirtieron durante años en las fronteras de la España del cristianismo al norte y de los reinos musulmanes al sur de las mismas. El sistema montañoso de Gredos es uno de los más importantes y extensos del país y trascurre por varias provincias como Madrid, Salamanca, Cáceres y Ávila. El viaje que programe me llevó desde Talavera de la Reina por la N-502 y luego por la carretera AV-925 hasta llegar a mi objetivo, Arenas de San Pedro en la comunidad autónoma de Castilla y León.



ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


To begin this tour of the town of Arenas de San Pedro, I headed to the centre through the streets of this beautiful and well-kept town. Upon arrival, I parked the car in the area of the Arenal River, a tributary of the Tiétar River that runs through the town. A very well-kept area in a river with crystal-clear, clean waters began to show me what would later await me on my visit to the town. I walked through its streets and squares from the lowest part to the highest, where I had my objective of visiting the castle while I saw the main buildings such as the town hall, leisure centres or the town church. The local people pointed out some of these places to me, guiding me on my tour and showing me their kindness, giving me some information about where to rest, eat or stay.


Para empezar este recorrido por la localidad de Arenas de San Pedro me dirigí a su centro por las calles de esta hermosa y bien cuidada villa. A la llegada aparque el coche en la zona del río Arenal afluente del Tiétar que atraviesa la localidad. Una zona muy bien cuidada en un río de aguas cristalinas y limpias me empezaba a mostrar lo que luego me esperaría en la visita al pueblo. Camine por sus calles y plazas desde la parte más baja hasta la más elevada donde tenía mi objetivo de visitar el castillo mientras veía los principales edificios como el ayuntamiento, centros de ocio o la iglesia de la localidad. Las gentes del lugar me indicaban alguno de estos lugares guiándome en mi recorrido y me mostraban su amabilidad dándome alguna información sobre donde descansar, comer o alojarme.


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png

My main objective of this trip was already very close, the castle of Arenas de San Pedro or Constable Ruiz Lopez Davalos. Upon arriving, I first walked around the perimeter of the castle, observing its strong and defensive architecture. I also noticed the strategic nature of the place, since from this point a vast expanse of land at the foot of the Sierra de Gredos could be seen.

Mi principal objetivo de este viaje estaba ya muy cercano, el castillo de Arenas de San Pedro o del Condestable Ruíz López Dávalos. Al llegar primeramente recorrí el perímetro del mismo observando la arquitectura recia y defensiva del mismo. También me fije en lo estratégico del lugar ya que desde este punto se dominaba una vasta extensión de tierras a las faldas de la sierra de Gredos.


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png

The castle is open to visitors, so I entered and arrived at a large inner courtyard where I could clearly see the immensity of the fortification. My view was lost between the strong walls and the towers that flanked each of the corners of the castle. Some were rounded and there was a main rectangular tower. The tower of weapons, which was where the feudal lord of the area had his residence. Built in the year 1400, it was a privilege that some kings granted to the feudal lords of the different areas for their control and leadership. Its preservation and its location in a low part revealed that it had been built quickly since they wanted to control that area in a short period of time. I climbed the walls by some steep stone stairs that took me around the entire route and had an elevated view of this beautiful castle.

El castillo es visitable así me introduje y llegue a un gran patio interior donde podía ver bien la inmensidad de aquella fortificación. Mi vista se perdía entre las recias murallas y las torres que flanqueaban cada una de las esquinas del mismo. Algunas eran redondeadas y había una principal de forma rectangular. La torre de armas, que era donde tenía su residencia el señor feudal de la zona. Construido en el año 1400 era un privilegio que algunos reyes concedían a los señores feudales de las distintas zonas para su control y liderazgo. Su conservación y su ubicación en una parte baja delataban que había sido construido de una forma rápida ya que querían controlar esa zona en un periodo de tiempo corto. Me subí a las murallas por unas empinadas escaleras de piedra que me llevaron a hacer todo el recorrido y tener una visión elevada de este precioso castillo.


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


The sands of San Pedro, its river and the mountains of the Sierra de Gredos, took me to travel to another period of time, merging with it. Today I share this experience with all of you, leaving a record of my experience on the world map. I extend an invitation to you to visit the beautiful places that I present to you. Greetings friends.

Arenas de San Pedro, su río y montañas de la sierra de Gredos, me llevaron a viajar en otro periodo de tiempo fusionándome con él. Comparto hoy esta experiencia con todos ustedes dejando constancia de mi experiencia en el mapa mundial. Les extiendo una invitación para visitar los bonitos lugares que les presento. Saludos amigos.


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


CategoríaPhototalent
AjustesISO-100 f/8 1/100s
CámaraNikon D7100 - Olympus E410 y Kodak Z
LenteNikkor or Olympus
LocalizaciónSpain



ironpagebreak.png



oscarps qw.png


Image ©oscarps. All Rights Reserved.
Original content by @oscarps


P6120310 - copia - copia.jpg


oscarps.png

Photographic works made in RAW format.

Images edited and converted to JPG format with Photoshop CC by @oscarps

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center