Humming with the Broken Circadian Rhythm

In the cold, shivering twilight, preceding the daybreak of civilization, the dominating emotion of man was fear.Paul P. Harris

Since early June, I have been on vacation.

It will be full two-month of being away from my desk and just being free from alarm clocks and deadlines.

While you might think that I am on an island hopping escapade, I'm still stuck with my school works hoping to catch up until the next semester.

Graveyard Shift

The latenights have been my friend, so my sleep-wake cycle has been a mess lately.

I'm blasting disco/pop music through my headphones and a side of low-sugar Monster energy drink. Hoping my brain cells would synchronize and work harmoniously.

I'm almost done, but Google Colab needs more fuel else it won't guarantee a long ride. I did have a subscription up to a Honda Rebel, but right now, I could only use a ladies bike for now.

After shift, I just feel vibing through the cold, foggy highway during daybreak.

They say VSU is a very scenic university—yes it is!

Very Scenic University

Since late 2021, VSU has been my morning coffee.

I mean, at 5 AM I'd wooosh from my house and ride the motorcycle and just feel the ice-cold air run through my face as I race with no-one.

And there, I'd wait for the sunrise.

VSU is a eco-tourism site, but also a university.

It's a suburban gem tucked in the coutryside, with mini shops and seasonal bazaars. My album is filled with photographs, but I chose these faceless shots and streets devoid of cars.

It's just dreamy and solemn—maybe mysterious.

It's like small town at night, but a city by the day.

Aside from hotels and cottages along the coastline, it has a bank and three ATM machines. So handy, if you're not yet planning to travel back to the city.

There are cafés nearby, but they open late in the morning. So, I'd prefer to go to local bakeries and buy bread and just brew my own coffee in the morning.

I do enjoy black coffee.

But this caffeine overdose is one of the reason, why my Circadian rhythms is so out of tune. Anyway, when the sun goes up, and the people slowly comes out of their houses to go to work, it is also the time that I go to bed.

Also, here's my cat, Samuel, beside this lovely painting.

Autumn by @janesuiren
9 x 11 in. / Acrylic on Canvas

After a weeks, I'll be back to my usual routine and I'll gonna miss this random moments in life. This island life isn't boring, but I'm planning to travel to Japan next year for a change.



PINNED POSTS

A Sustainability Review of the Year 2022
Starting from January, let's have a trip down the highlights of my journey in self-sufficiency and sustainability.
Clearing the Damage After the Storm
Instead of falling into anxiety, I took time to make use of what the storm had given.
Building Abundance with More Fruit Trees Amid the Economic Turmoil
This year, I planned to initially plant 100 trees wherever possible until the year ends.
Using Saltwater and Fire to Heal a Permaculture Garden
Plant debris becomes natural mulch and organic matter.
Harvesting Cucumbers After a Year of Labor
As crops mature, harvest season began as well.
Fermenting Fish Amino Acid for the Garden Crops
It would be a sin to throw away such things, even the food scraps I turn it to compost now.


About Me

@oniemaniego is a software developer, but outside work, he experiments in the kitchen, writes poetry and fiction, paints his heart out, or toils under the hot sun.

Onie Maniego / Loy Bukid was born in rural Leyte. He often visits his family orchards during the summers and weekends, which greatly influenced his works.


Follow on Instagram



Support with Crypto

Bitcoin 1CW4We9h1Z5h3B7gKKjSJ6Xv4ZpTJi7xmo
Ethereum 0xe0779958c74b09c1305eaf860dbc33a3cef711bd



© 2024 Onie Maniego and Loy Bukid



Don't forget to vote, comment, and follow me.
Not yet on Hive? Earn while blogging.
Sign up with PeakD | Ecency

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now