Part I : Taking a Stroll to See Toledo Steel (Day 2 of my Spain-Portugal Trip)

"The City of the Three Cultures"

As I researched the city, Toledo, while I was getting ready. I found myself quite intrigued by what I was gonna be seeing that day. Oh! Hello, Travelers around the world! NomNomNoodle is back on my trip to Spain-Portugal. This is my Day 2 and as the title says, I'll be on a day trip in Toledo. Wanna join me? Let's go!

S__5062668.jpg


Here is my first day of the trip, if you wondered where I went.
Part I : Me and My Misty Madrid Debut (Day I of my Spain-Portugal Trip in 2023)
Part II : Exploring the Royal Splendor Inside the Palacio Real de Madrid
Part III : Savoring Spanish Tradition with A Feast of JamΓ³n Iberico


Now, let's start with

πŸ‡ͺπŸ‡ΈπŸ“ the City πŸ“πŸ‡ͺπŸ‡Έ

We left our hotel and it took us around an hour to drive to Toledo.

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_49.jpg


When we arrived, the car needed to be parked underground(?) and we followed up the escalators to the city up top. It was surprisingly high up. In a way, it's a good suspense for the city reveal.

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_48.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_47.jpg


When I reached the top, the first thing that hit my eyes was the beautiful city view of Toledo. It's very much European as how I expected it to be. I like how all the buildings are in the same tone of color. Very earthy and super reminded me of King's Landing in Game of Thrones.

untitled.gif

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_46.jpg

See what I mean? I guess for European people, it might not be anything cinematic, but for me, using a movie is the closest reference I have.

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_45.jpg


LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_42.jpg

We get to walk through the city. Our goal is the cathedral of Toledo. It normally wouldn't take long, but since it's just our first 2 days of the trip. We were super excited and took pictures of everything we walked past.

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_44.jpg

Like this train here. Aww so cute 😍


My mom was as excited as I was. 😁
B60F846A-33CD-4F4A-86BB-7F04517712F3.jpg

We walked to the square of the city. Unfortunately, I couldn't take good photos, as many cars were blocking the way.

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_41.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_40.jpg


πŸ‡ͺπŸ‡Έβš”οΈ The Toledo Sword βš”οΈπŸ‡ͺπŸ‡Έ

Then my dad wanted to stop for a bathroom break, so while waiting, we got to observe the shops of Toledo souvenirs. Turns out, it was actually one of the things that Toledo's famous for: Sword-making

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_37.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_32.jpg

Inside the shop, there were all kinds of swords and knives to see there. I'm super impressed with the swords and the copies of props that they made from all the great medieval movies we know; i.e. Lord of the Rings and Game of Thrones the series.

Screenshot 2024-01-22 172253.png

source


I learned that Toledo is famous for their STEEL. Toledo steel forging techniques were developed from ancient customs associated with culture in the Iberian peninsula. Over the course of many centuries, they used to forge many different types of weapons.

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_35.jpg

The website claimed that...

The extraordinary strength of these pieces and their exquisite hilts won over some of the most important figures in history, placing these beautiful weapons among their most prized possessions.

Other than swords, Toledo offered lots and various kinds of metal works. I roamed around the store and was totally captivated by how much stuff they had.
LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_36.jpg


I spent quite a while, lurking and observing this man doing his craft. I believe they were decorative ornaments. So beautiful! This is what I love about traveling. It always shows me something new.

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_34.jpg


There were complicated-looking clocks in all shapes and sizes. I wish I could buy some, but I have no idea where I would put it in my home.

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_33.jpg


My parents decided to buy fridge magnets of Paella (Spanish Fried Rice) and a Flamingo dancing lady. I asked them why don't you guys buy something more Toledo. They simply answered: Swords are violent, plus we liked these ones. They are more spanish. So I was..

4113B913-61E4-46F2-B5AB-F81F84628041.jpg

untitled.gif


Lord of the Rings fans must know what this is. Right? I'm a big fan and I enjoyed seeing things like this a lot. All the swords inside are from other movies too. Toledo is a place for middle-aged nerds like me.
LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_6.jpg


πŸ‡ͺπŸ‡ΈπŸ”Ί The City Square πŸ”ΊπŸ‡ͺπŸ‡Έ

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_30.jpg

Walking around the square, they set up this Christmas market thing and the festive vibe is just lovely. This stall here sold lots of accessories and beaded bags. If I had more time, I'd buy some.

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_28.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_29.jpg


πŸ‡ͺπŸ‡ΈπŸš© The Hidden Alley 🚩πŸ‡ͺπŸ‡Έ

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_27.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_26.jpg

The thing I am most proud of in my outfit though, is my Gryffindor scarf.

Because Toledo is a slopey city, we get to walk a little extra up and down. I enjoyed the city a lot. Then we reached this corner, where more souvenirs can be found here.

It was a little cold and my Asian body still was adjusting to it. So under my suit, there were 3 layers of pajama-like body suit to keep me warm.

untitled.gif


LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_23.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_25.jpg

It was a nice blue sky that day and while me and my sister waited for the others, she found a hidden alley.

S__5062672.jpg


When I looked down the alley, which is actually not hidden or anything, I saw a nice angle of the cathedral so I wanted a picture of it. Sadly, it was impossible to have both good lighting on me and the cathedral. Evidences are attached.

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_21.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_1.jpg


I'd like to pause my stroll in Toledo here and save the cathedral for the next one. Let's see if I'll get better pictures there or not. Thank you everybody for joining me and til the next one...


Let's enjoy the beauty of places and keep traveling, guys

Khob khun kaa,
Nomnomnoodle 🍜


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency