Bogor Botanical Gardens, A Forest That Is 204 Years Old.

Hi all. Last November, my friends and I visited Kebon Raya Bogor. This place is very beautiful. I can breathe fresh air here. The air in Jakarta bores me. This place refreshes me. I feel ready to face the deadline on Monday. This place is a 204 year old botanical garden. It's been a long time, hasn't it? This place is located in the center of Bogor, West Java, Indonesia.

Kebon Raya.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



Kebon raya 2.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



IMG_20211204_101652.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



Places are like the lungs of the city. Even though this place is not located in Jakarta, I feel like this place is like the lungs of Jakarta. There have been many improvements made here. One of them is a game of lights called Glow. From the information I got, if the game is a game of light that can illuminate the trees. In fact, there is an animated video with a tree as the screen. I did not find this. maybe I should visit at night.

From the information I got, the installation of this lamp reaped many rejections. Activists assess if it can damage the ecosystem in this place, This place have the area is 87 hectares and has 15,000 species of trees with 300 types of orchids and 5,359 types of plants. If you bring your kids, kids will play and run a lot in this place.

IMG_20211204_101626.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



IMG_20211204_101646.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



IMG_20211204_101615.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



You have to be careful, if it rains, you won't be able to play in this place. I am satisfied walking around here, I also cycle on the spot. But, you need to bring food and drink. Because food and drinks here are very limited. There's a coffee shop, it's big, but the drinks here are limited. There is ice cream too, you can buy ice cream if you don't like coffee at this place.

For Glow's lights this is for a night tour. This Glow lamp was made by the manager in order to increase the visit of this place. however, this Glow Lamp can only be enjoyed at night. I'm afraid if I have to visit this place at night. From the information I got, this place has made a lot of improvements. One of them is the improvement of the construction of a waterwheel decorated with a pond, a Pueblo color house and a water shower. I need more time to get around here.

IMG_20211204_101838.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



IMG_20211204_102218.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



IMG_20211204_102303.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



IMG_20211204_102449.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



When was this place founded? This place was founded in 1817. In that year, I had not been born. This place is very old. This place was officially inaugurated by the Governor General of the Netherlands, Godert Alexander Gerard Philip van der Capellen. In the past, the name of this place was Lands Plantenetin te Buitenzorg. The construction of this place was led by Caspar Georg Karl Reinwardt who was assisted by James Hooper and W Kent. Both are from Kew Botany in England.

IMG_20211204_102830.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



IMG_20211204_102833.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



IMG_20211204_120318.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



IMG_20211204_120444.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



Caspar had the opportunity to do research in this place. He researched the medicinal plants in this place. Before it became a forest, Caspar decided to collect all the plants in this place. At the age of 200 years, this place has a very complete collection of plants. In its time, this place became a bastion of germ conservation. In fact, this place was proposed to be a UNESCO World Heritage site.

The proposal was made in 2017, but this place was officially listed on the Tentative List in 2018, then. I don't know when this place became a world heritage site. Currently, this place serves to maintain nature conservation. This place is now the beginning of the development of science in Indonesia as well as the beginning of the formation of a botanical group in Indonesia. In this place were born several laboratories. I only know two labs, namely Treub and the Zoological Museum.

IMG_20211204_120859.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



IMG_20211204_121039.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



IMG_20211204_120313.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



IMG_20211204_120630.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



This place represents five continuous functions. Among them, the functions of conservation, environmental education, environmental education and permanent environmental services. Everything is connected. From the information I got, this place is related to the Samidha Forest. local people say that the Samidha Forest is an artificial forest built by Sri Baduga Maharja, the King of Padjajaran. Samidha Forest was built to preserve the environment. One more thing, this place serves to maintain rare wood seeds. I can see Mount Gede and Mount Pangrango in this place. This place is very fresh.

From the information I got, this place is connected to the Samidha Forest. in fact, this place has existed since King Sri Baduga Maharaja. It's been a long time. I am so amazed by this place. I will come to this place often. I'll be walking around here a lot, but, I have to take my friends to play here. I had a hard time bringing my mother and sister.

SAVE_20211206_092112.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



IMG_20211204_102708 (1).jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



SAVE_20211206_092329.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



Kebon Raya 1.jpg

Kebon Raya (1).jpg



In the Batutulis inscription (prasasti batutulis), the Samidha Forest marks this place. But, I need to re-read the history of this place, it's interesting to reveal the history of this place. So, here is my story about this place. I hope you enjoy the story of this place.

IMG_20211204_102511.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah





About Author

Nurdiani Latifah

My name is Nurdiani Latifah. I currently live in Jakarta – Indonesia, after 25 years I live in Bandung. I am a media staff at an NGO in Indonesia. I have worked in this institution for almost 2 years on issues of women and peace. I had been a journalist in Bandung for 3 years.

If you like his content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Also, don't forget to follow him to be updated with his latest posts.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center