My Experience Getting Antigen Covid-19 Test Before Traveling

In recent days, traveling comes with extra hassles. For example, since I'll be traveling today, I have to obtain a negative result antigen test a minimum of two days and a maximum of two hours before the departure. Moreover, the rules keep changing each day, and it gets pretty cumbersome. But you know, if you want to travel, that's the consequences.

Five months ago, I traveled via train and was required to provide a negative covid-19 result before boarding. I remembered that experience was quite dreadful. I stayed for about 8 hours at the railway station because I came too early to the testing site. The whole process took about an hour at max, and the test valid for 14 days. However, today the testing system is changing.

Since I will be using a train, I have to do testing at the railway station with two options. The first one is Antigen Swab, and the second one is GeNose, an instant covid-19 detection tool powered by AI made by Indonesia. Antigen swab costs more than genose and has more time validity than genose. For example, for antigen swab, it is valid 3x24 hours meanwhile genose only 1x24. I choose the antigen swab because I first thought it is going to be valid until two weeks. But, you know I was wrong. So, if you are about to travel using train, those are your options. The tests are available in major railway stations in Indonesia. Traveling via airplane would require more stricter testing as I've read. I'd love to do it soon and tell you about it next.


So, since I already came to the testing center last night, I decided to take it. It was my first time getting a swab through my nose. I swear it hurt, and I would rather them take my blood. I was also very anxious because lately, I am not in my fittest condition. but thankfully after 30 minutes of waiting, the result came negative.

20210629_100606.jpg

I could see that we will be required to show vaccination certificates for domestic and even international travel in the future. However, I saw on social media that people could travel freely without masks in some countries. It's interesting because I have some family members who have excessive fears of the outside due to covid-19. I notice that they often read too much news and in too many WhatsApp groups with chain messages that its validity is questionable.

My mom and I have been wearing a mask before the pandemic. We also don't like crowds and around too many people, especially myself. So, I always avoid crowds whenever I can and possible. Yet, our relatives, who seemed to be so worried about it, called my mom to " remember about the safety protocols." As someone with borderline germaphobia, that bothers me. I mean, like, I am more extreme than most people. I swear, if I have the means, I would book the whole train/plane for myself and wear a hazard suit everywhere. But, unfortunately, that's not possible since you'll get a fine for wearing a hazard suit these days and I am not that rich yet to afford it

So, that's the hassle I have to go through only to travel for 3-4 hours at max. My family members and even my mom made it like we're going to a war zone on another planet.


Hope You Enjoyed This article!



image.pngMac covers technology, philosophy, nootropics, books, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity, and languages. Other than those, she is passionate about cooking and travel. In her free time, she enjoys learning various things. Hive is the only social media and blog that she has.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center