North Hero, Vermont: Library and Playground

Every time I've driven along Route 2 through Champlain Islands and past North Hero Elementary School, I've noticed the playground looks like a pretty good one. Today, we finally decided to drive there and check it out. My daughter enjoyed the elaborate pirate ship playground and I was nostalgic about my childhood when I saw the tetherball game. I don't know the last place that I saw a tetherball game at a park or playground. When was the last time you played tetherball?

We made a quick trip to North Hero Library, knowing it was closed for the holiday, just to admire the quaint features of the property. It was another place I'd driven by before and never stopped to see. We checked out the outdoor Little Free Library bench and admired the adorable property and colorful leaves that have already started to fall. The weather was perfect breezy Autumn weather today and the library is the quintessential cozy New England Library.

One really interesting feature of this library, that you couldn't see just from driving by, is the word stone garden. This reminded me of the magnetic poetry that made its debut in the 1990's, except it is larger stones. Visitors can arrange the engraved stones to create phrases or expressions among the smaller gravel. This was one of the cutest libraries I've seen - check out my photos below.


Playground time


Tetherball


You can kind of see Lake Champlain in the background


Little Free Library Bench


Word Stone Garden

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center