🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 ”Walk in a frosty forest at the RIVER and FALLS of SHIN” ~ LAIRG, SCOTLAND 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 ~ Wednesday Walk

Hi all 👋🏻

Today I want to share with you a walk in a forest and along the river SHIN to the FALLS ~ located in Lairg, United Kingdom which is located in the #HIGHLANDS of #SCOTLAND 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿
This is actually 4 walks combined in one, each walk was so short, I decided to do them all at once 😎😁
This is part of another first #explorations out, to #discover our new area, where we live since end of January. 😊😎
The day started all frosty 🥶 and made the views really crispy and I saw some cool details along the way because of it. Wanna see? 😉

With this post I’m joining in at the Wednesday Walk challenge and Make me Smile challenge. That are hosted by @tattoodjay and @elizacheng every week on Wednesday.

‼️Have a look: Here in the Wednesday Walk Community if you want to join in! if you want to join… the community is run by @tattoodjay.
Look at his last post : “Wednesday Walk Frank Knowles Little River Reserve”
It will tell you also the rules of joining in at the Wednesday walk posts 😁

Today’s selection will be of 51 photographs, where I take you along on a walk, ok ok… 4 walks in one 😇 the forest, around the Falls and RIVER SHIN.
Date: 26 February 2023, last weekend to be precise.
The Photographs in this post are all taken with my iPhone 📱🤓

I will follow the time stamps on my photographs. So it looks like you are walking along with me on this #walk in the #forest, along the #river and #falls, to 💃🏻💃🏻💃🏻 #discover everything, like the little #details seen through my eyes. 😊

Location on Google maps, see the yellow star:

Zooming out a bit:

We had to drive to it first which was about an hours drive.
In the car we saw these frosty views:

See, everything is white 🥶☃️ it does look pretty.

Did you wrap up warm for this walk? 🧤🧣🥾
Let’s start our WALK now:
Are you coming along? 😉😊

We parked the car next to the visitor centre and walked down the steep slope along a path to see the FALLS FIRST 😉
The viewing platform has some decorative tiles of salmon jumping up the falls. (Too bad it is damaged)

When we look at the RIVER SHIN we see it rushing down the falls.

Closer look at the falls:

Here you can see between the months of May to November Salmons going up this river/stream to spawn. Jumping the rocks up the falls - truly… against the stream. 😳 I can imagine this must be a great sight to witness. Their little instincts telling them where to go. I have never seen salmons do this so far, I hope I will in the spring 🍀 I sure will have a look.
Have you seen this?

Looking in the other direction.

Walking up the path I capture some frozen 🥶 details… like this fern.

Or the balustrade next to the path that is sparkling ✨✨✨in the sun… being all frosty.

Back at the parking lot we go and look closer at the visitor centre, which is closed either due to renovation or winter season. Or both 😉

Do you see it?
Yes!
It’s the tail of a salmon. Beautifully crafted.

Let’s walk to the next sign with walks to explore.

We have done the little one on the bottom, “Falls of Shin Salmon Leap”.
Looking at the other 3 walks… being 1 km, 1,3 km and 2 km long. We will do them all 😉😎
As we do want to have some steps in on this cold day to warm us up 😎🥾🥾🥾🥾 don’t you agree?

We start with the green walk and do the yellow bit in between too, that passes a little pond.

The start:

The sun is coming through the trees and will warm everything up slowly. 😊
The green walk we follow the directions given by these signs.

Little puddles next to us are frozen.

See the beautiful patterns 😎 in the ice 🧊

Even the moss on the tree stumps are frozen 🥶 stunning!

Some wooden sculptures along the path. We see a heron here. 😎

After a while we reach the little pond. It does look pretty. I imagine this sight in the spring when all leaves on the trees are back and little frogs play in the water.

A little bench next to us shows the lifecycle of the frog…

I see along the waters edge another wooden sculpture of this large frog. 🐸

As we walk further I see a few lonely Christmas trees 🎄 hahaha 🤣 not really, but they do stand out in their surroundings.

We are still following the green walk.

We are about at the furthest part of it now. We see some tree stumps next to us.

Some views now we reached higher grounds.

Circling back on the loop.

A little stream next to us…

The forest becomes thicker, the path creeps all the way through it now.

I see a “WINDOW” in the forest floor 😎😊

Beautiful #reflections

Yep, we are still following the green path.

Breathe in the fresh, maybe even cold, crispy air… it is wonderful and definitely #recharging us!

A picnic bench…

A little wooden train for little ones to play on. (Also grown ups hahaha 🤣)

So go and sit on it and I take a photo 📸 😉 but we won’t share that one today… 🤭ok?

Another wooden #sculpture in the form of a dragonfly 😊 I like the #artworks in the forest.

I see a tunnel… 🤓 cool!

I beat you to it… hahaha and will go first now 😎

Come on… follow me 😁

We walk further along the path and see some big rocks.

Stepping ‘stones’. Here wooden poles…

And over we go…

Such a fun activities in this forest 😎😁

The light is stunning at this moment.

Walking further we reach the start of the blue path now. And follow along.

I see some stone walls between the trees.

Another picnic site 😎 now out of rocks 🪨

The blue signs we follow, along the river SHIN now.

Reaching it when walking down off the path. 😉

A little stream next to the river, in the distance… if you look closely… a little waterfall. 😎

Do you see it?

Walking further off the path towards the river we find this:

”JACKPOT”

I think one can see the SALMON really well here going up stream in the right season.

Looking towards the right, the river is really wide here. 😎

Walking back up to the path we follow it higher up.

Being higher up we look down onto the river Shin now.

The path up is steep… are you still with me?

Last little bits, I know we are almost back at the visitor centre. Come on… you can do it 😁

A shadow selfie we take…

…and on the balustrade next to us I see some moss and lichens.

And there you go, the visitor centre and parking lot.

We made all walks in a little bit less than 2 hours, from 11:30h to 13:11h. Well done.
(Do keep in mind we did stop many times to take pretty pictures hahaha 🤣)

What did we see a lot, don’t you think? 😊

And here I say “that’s all for today’s post my friends, join me next time for more #adventures, #stories and #photographs 😎👋🏻 Even some #artworks once in a while will come by” 🎨
Thank you so much for looking, and reading. And if you liked my post, an upvote or re-blog is always welcome.

#ecency banner by @irisworld

Any questions or comments, let me know. Always happy to help.

Have a great Wednesday all 😎
Grtz Jackie

silver_divider_black.png

The divider by SilverFish / mondoshawan

Unless stated otherwise: All art and photos used in my posts are taken, created and owned by me. If you wish to use any of my photographs, please contact me first. As I have used some commercially myself. We don’t want that you or somebody else gets into trouble 😉 So please don’t use them without my consent.

🖼 My PRINTSHOP: for the purchase of all kind of prints in many sizes from my Artworks 🎨 and Photography 📸 Which come on different objects too. Have a look in My Prints Shop!

#ecency banner by @irisworld

!pinmapple 57.96047 lat -4.40880 long 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 ”Walk in a frosty forest at the RIVER and FALLS of SHIN” ~ LAIRG, SCOTLAND 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 ~ Wednesday Walk d3scr

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
128 Comments
Ecency