🏰 ”Ardvreck Castle ruins and the drive to it in the snow ❄️” - Lairg SCOTLAND 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 ~ Wednesday Walk

Hi all 👋🏻

Today I want to share with you all a walk around the RUINS OF #ARDVRECK #CASTLE, located at #LOCH #ASSYNT what is in the #HIGHLANDS of #SCOTLAND 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 / UK 🇬🇧
As the drive to it was truly #magical, I will show you this part too 😎 we had some snow a few weeks ago and it made everything look like #winterwonderland again ❄️☃️❄️
This is part of our #explorations out, to #discover new areas, since we live in the highlands from the end of January this year. 😊

With this post I’m joining in at the Wednesday Walk challenge and Make me Smile challenge. That are hosted by @tattoodjay and @elizacheng every week on Wednesday.

‼️Have a look: Here in the Wednesday Walk Community if you want to join in!… the community is run by @tattoodjay.
Look at his last post : “Wednesday Walk details around the port“
It will tell you also the rules of joining in at the Wednesday walk posts 😁

Today’s selection will be of 40 photographs.
Date: 11 March 2023.
The Photographs in this post are all taken with my iPhone 📱🤓
I will follow the time stamps on them. So it looks like you are driving along to the castle and walking along with me on this #walk in ❄️☃️❄️ #WINTERWONDERLAND, to 💃🏻💃🏻💃🏻 #discover everything what I saw, like the little #details seen through my eyes. 😊

Screenshot of the Location on Google maps, see the yellow star ⭐️ :

Zooming out a bit for you… again a screenshot from Google maps. You can see it is located on the west side of Scotland.

More information about the Castle you find in Wikipedia here: Ardvreck Castle!

The above website states that:

The castle was built around 1490 by the MacLeods of Assynt.

Imagine how long ago that is… 🤓

Let’s start our DRIVE and WALK:
Are you coming along? 😉😊
This time we need to take some warm gloves and a scarf and hat again… ❄️☃️ next to winter clothes and a warm jacket 🧥

The funny thing is… I didn’t expect to see much snow to be honest.
As we started driving we see around us this green landscape, only in the distance some snow on the tops of the mountains.

But soon… slowly this started to happen ❄️❄️❄️

The landscape was turning more white with every kilometre we drive up north ❄️❄️

Look how pretty it looks 😎

We see in the distance the mountains are covered with a thick pack of snow ❄️ that’s the way we are heading 😊 we had this much snow too but the area we live in was already defrosting earlier.

Oh what is the view beautiful… 🥰

We are reaching a village along the way. #Elphin is its name.

After some twisty turny bends through the #village we see more winterwonderland ☃️❄️

At this point we decide to drive a bit further than only to the castle as we want to see more of this winterwonderland around us first ❄️☃️❄️ and at the way back we will stop at the CASTLE 🏰

So we do drive much further, about an hours drive further.
I show you here the highlights of the drive 😎

We are the only ones on the road btw. So we can stop a few times, jump out of the car 🚗 and take some pretty pictures 📸 like this one. If you look closely you see the snow is being blown of the higher peaks…

The roads are luckily not too bad 🤓 but we drive carefully further.

Another stop… we get out of the car 🚗

I love snowy landscapes like this… bright blue skies… just us and nobody else.

A perfect weekend I must say 😊
Here we are at a higher point and I look back, the road twists through the #scenery.

I was hoping to find some #deer 🦌 as you would be able to see them really good now, but sadly we didn’t spot any… that were close enough to photograph.

Another capture of the snowy scenery… unspoiled 😎

…now we are heading back to the castle ruins.

Reaching the loch Assynt. We park our car 🚗 wrap up warm and start our walk 😊

And we reached the ruins, this time we could cross the water and walk onto the island the castle is on.
This is the view from the back 😎

Screenshot of Google maps, zooming in on the castle:

The path visible is normally flooded. You can’t cross to the island, at least this is the first time we saw that we could cross. All other times the water was high and we couldn’t when we visited the castle. 😎

Zooming out for a wider backdrop…

Further to the right looking over the loch (lake in English) 🤓

Let’s have a closer look at the ruins 😎📸

Look at the details that remain.

Walking around it now… the ruin towers high above us.

We walk further around…

Until I find these gates… closing of these areas.

I see icicles hanging of the ceiling… 🥶🥶🥶

Zooming in above…

And more of these gates…

What a sight… I can imagine the rest of the castle still being there.

More hidden rooms…

Although it started to snow again… the sun is peeking behind the mountains and castle 🏰

View along the left side…

We decide to walk back now. More photographers came, so we are not alone anymore 😎 but we got some good photos while nobody was around 😁 don’t you think?

Along the waters edge we find these grasses covered in snow, what makes for a cool sight 😎

More details along the edge… 🥰❄️☃️

Walking along a path towards the car park where the car is located. I love the #clouds, what a pretty sight.

Closer…

And here to the left is the car park.

Where I say “that’s all for today’s post my friends we are back at the car and say goodbye, join me next time for more #adventures, #stories and #photographs 😎👋🏻 Even some #artworks once in a while will come by” 🎨
Thank you so much for looking, and reading.

#ecency banner by @irisworld

Any questions or comments, let me know. Always happy to help.

Have a great Wednesday all 😎
Grtz Jackie

silver_divider_black.png

The divider by SilverFish / mondoshawan

Unless stated otherwise: All art and photos used in my posts are taken, created and owned by me. If you wish to use any of my photographs, please contact me first. As I have used some commercially myself. We don’t want that you or somebody else gets into trouble 😉 So please don’t use them without my consent.

🖼 My PRINTSHOP: for the purchase of all kind of prints in many sizes from my Artworks 🎨 and Photography 📸 Which come on different objects too. Have a look in My Prints Shop!

If you want to see where I traveled to and what I already shared in @pinmapple, have a look at my personal map here: Littlebee4 PINMAPPLE MAP

#ecency banner by @irisworld

More photos from the highlands @jacoalberts and my walk in the snow @papilloncharity

!pinmapple 58.16618 lat -4.99238 long 🏰 ”Ardvreck Castle ruins and the drive to it in the snow ❄️” - Lairg SCOTLAND 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 ~ Wednesday Walk d3scr

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
167 Comments
Ecency