A little bit of South Africa in the Netherlands?

My first day back at work in the Netherlands and a surprise awaited me. One of my colleagues who is also from South Africa organised a typical braai known as a barbecue elsewhere.

She had boerewors which directly translated is "farmer's sausage" and corn on the cob.Boerewors and corn on the cob

I'm sure this went down well with everyone.

This was served with baguette bread and tomato and onion sauce and a big bowl of salad. Also in the photograph you can see biltong which is dried meat and loved by all South Africans (meat eaters of course)

TypicalSouth African Fare

This was really a nice surprise for me because having just got back to the Netherlands from South Africa, I wasn't even given the time to miss this braaing treat.

These Tuesday lunches are really turning out to be special events and everyone pulling out all the stops to make it fun.

Some gifts I brought back with me

I work with a great team - from different parts of the world and different cultures.

Every week one of us takes a turn to supply a meal for the team. What a great initiative this has been. Very good for team building.

We are a team of property managers so our work brings us into contact with students and PHD's from all over the world. A group of us are also learning Dutch and that has also been a challenging and fun thing to do.

I still have some blogs to share from my time in South Africa. I was in Johannesburg and flew to Capetown for a few days so the time went very quickly.

Diemen, is predominantly occupied by students and young professionals. Close to a location of Inholland University of Applied Sciences.

Diemen is located in the province of North Holland, in the west of the Netherlands.

Three waterways cross the municipality - The river is the namesake of Diemen. The town can be divided into three neighbourhoods: Diemen Noord, Diemen Centrum, and Diemen Zuid.

It's good to be back in the Netherlands.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center