A Relaxing Coffee Shop with a Panoramic View in Jiufen Old Street, Taiwan

Untitled presentation (5).png

Hello! Appreciate you stopping by. In my last blog post, A Motorcycle Road Trip to Buyenting (不厭亭) near Jiufen, Taiwan I shared about passing through Jiufen Old Street on my journey. Following that, I opted to unwind for the remainder of the day at a cozy coffee shop along Jiufen Old Street, slowing down my Sunday before diving back into work mode for the upcoming week.

In this blog, I want to tell you about my time at a cool coffee shop. I'll share the awesome views from there, including some cool drone pictures. You'll see a wide, beautiful scene and a pretty sunset. Join me in reading through and enjoying the vibes!

Jiufen Old Street

1695722519332.jpg

1695722519334.jpg

These photos are from my blog Jiufen Old Street: Unveiling the Real-Life Spirited Away.

Jiufen Old Street in Taiwan is a cool place with a lot of history. Back in the day, it was a bustling gold mining town. The streets are narrow, and the buildings have a mix of Japanese and Chinese styles. You can try yummy local snacks like taro balls and fish balls from the many food stalls. Jiufen is famous for its teahouses and cafes, offering a chill spot with great views of mountains and the sea. Artists love it here, and the town's even been a movie inspiration. Plus, the sunset views are pretty awesome. It's a simple and neat spot with a lot to offer!

Relaxing Coffee Shop

Coffee Shop

1700982219419.jpg

Believe me, this is yet another hidden gem if you are into cozy underrated coffee shops like me. Why do I consider it as a hidden gem? Read along and you'll be invited to visit here.

First and foremost. They cannot be easily seen in Google Maps. Mainly because their name is in Chinese and they are most likely not marketing online. Unlike most coffee shops, I think they lack an online marketing strategy but it doesn't make them bad at all. As a happy customer, I am sharing you their location: 酉時暮光 (Youshi Coffee Shop). And their English name is Youshi Coffee Shop. I don't have any affiliation with them, but I wish I do haha!

Ambience

1700982219421.jpg

I am quite picky when choosing a coffee shop to spend my time relaxing, writing my blogs, or coding. My main criterion is that it needs to be a quiet place.

1700982219414.jpg

1700982219409 (1).jpg

And this coffee shop's ambiance simply nailed it! The place is spacious, not crowded, and customers are just like me—wanting to chill, be quiet, and respectful of others' peace.

1700983351194.jpg

This coffee shop also met my second criterion; it must be work-friendly. They have tables, toilet and charging ports. Honestly, I don't enjoy working in coffee shops like Starbucks, haha! But I still grab their coffee, especially when I'm on-the-go. Compared to lesser-known spots like Youshi, Starbucks is usually way too crowded (here in Taiwan) for my liking.

1700982219403.jpg

1700982219405.jpg

Coffee

1700983669738.jpg

Of course! they make good coffee! I don't always drink a latte, most of the time I just like a simple sugar-free Americano. But this time I'd like to try their latte, and it did not disappoint me!

Cats

1700982219416 (1).jpg

No, they don't own cats! But I think this place (Jiufen) is owned by cats (disguising spirits?) lol!

You'll find a lot of stray cats in this place, and I find this coffee shop taking good care of them by simply giving them cat food. If you notice the picture above, under the seat there are two food bowls. Those are cat foods!

If I remember it correctly, Youshi Coffee Shop is also accepting donations to feed the cats.

1700982219407.jpg

1700984619895.jpg

Panoramic View

1700985885100.jpg

Just a step outside the coffee shop, you'll witness this panoramic view of the neighboring districts around Jiufen.
IMG_20231119_152243 (2).jpg

There you'll find a platform where you can take awesome pictures together with this amazing view behind you.

I just missed taking pictures of the area, but it is just right in front of the coffee shop. You can even take your coffee and sit out there while enjoying the view.

IMG_20231119_152249 (1).jpg

I stayed in this coffee shop until the sunset, and here is what I have witnessed. A calming view of the mountain, the sunset, and the neighboring city.

IMG_20231119_165345.jpg

I truly enjoyed my stay there, making my Sunday a relaxing and slow-burn vibe. If you are planning to visit Jiufen Old Street, here is my guide for you to get there!

How to get there

image.png

By Motorcycle or Car

From Taipei Main Station, follow this route:

  1. Follow Civic Blvd
  2. Continue through Taiwan National Rd. # 5
  3. Then drive through Provincial Road # 102

By Train and Bus

From Taipei Main Station, follow this guide :

  1. Ride the TRA train heading to Songshan Station
  2. From Songshan Station, walk to the nearby bus station in front of Raohe Night Market
  3. Ride the bus #1062 going to Jiufen Old Street

I hope you enjoyed reading through it! Again, thanks for dropping by! 再見!

-krios


PeakD
Instagram
YouTube


Other blogs

Untitled presentation (2).png

A Motorcycle Road Trip to Buyenting (不厭亭) near Jiufen, Taiwan

Untitled presentation (2).png

Mt. Qixing Yangmingshan: A Quick Hike in Taipei City

Untitled presentation.jpg

A Weekend Retreat: Camping, Waterfalls, and Scenic Views in Yilan County, Taiwan

DJI_20230930060350_0002_D.00_02_47_22.Still002.png

The Breathe Taking Mt.Hehuan North Peak - Nantou, Taiwan

IMG_0633.jpg

A Magical Journey on the Alishan Forest Railway

My gears:

  • Canon D200 II
  • Insta360 One x2
  • DJI Mini 4 Pro
  • Xiaomi 11 Lite

All photos are mine unless otherwise stated and/or referenced

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now