Capelinha de Fatima Replica: First in the Philippines, First in Asia, Fourth in the World

Capelinha de Fatima Replica – San Remigio
San Remigio is my beloved hometown. It's a municipality in Cebu Province, Philippines. There lies the Capelinha de Fatima Replica, the very first in the Philippines, first in Asia, and fourth in the world. As you may know, there are only four Capelinha de Fatimas in the world. Puerto Rico, Brazil, and the United States are home to the other three replicas. Additionally, the Capelinha de Fatima is a replica of the chapel in Fatima, Portugal, known as the Cova da Iria, where the Blessed Virgin Mary appeared to three children in 1917. Thus, I feel so happy and blessed that the fourth replica is built here in the Philippines, specifically my hometown.
Before diving into this heritage, let me just tell you some stories. Have you heard about the dancing sun? October 13, 1917, is remembered as the “Miracle of the Sun” or the day the sun danced. It happened in Portugal. The dancing sun also took place at the Capelinha de Fatima Replica in San Remigio, Cebu, Philippines. That's why many people believe it's such a sacred and miraculous place, especially those who have seen the phenomenon firsthand.

How I've heard about this place.
I've already read about this sacred place here in Hive and I've been eyeing it since then. My colleagues in my first job also talked about how much they wanted to visit this miraculous place. My cousins have been here. I, without further thinking, promised to visit this place once I returned home. Now, I just did.

Its location.
The Capelinha de Fatima Replica is located at Tinubdan Hills, Lambusan-Tacup, San Remigio, Cebu, Philippines. It's the latest religious destination here in Cebu, Philippines. Upon going there, we were supposed to be proceeding in a different way because that is the only route we're familiar with. However, as I was enjoying filming the beauty of nature, I saw this directional signboard and told my cousin to go back and go there instead.

They've made it easier for everyone by incorporating direction signboards and providing accessible roads.
What's made it much better today is that the roads are already more accessible than ever. Compared to before, this is still a rough road. You don't have to worry, though, because it's easy to locate; you'll just have to use Google Maps or Waze and look at the direction signboards.

WELCOME PILGRIMS AND DEVOTEES OF OUR LADY OF FATIMA!
Upon seeing this sign, we knew we were already close to the location, and I was very excited. I had been mesmerized a lot on the way; how much more would I be once I got there?

Finally, we arrived at the amazing Capelinha de Fátima replica in San Remigio! 🥺

The place is more amazing and peaceful than I expected it to be. All you could hear is the chirping of the birds, the breeze of the air, and the solemn music of the chapel. The green surroundings and visibility of the ocean add perfection to the place. We offered our sincere prayers. This is one of the most peaceful places to pray, with no noise and away from the busy streets and their constant hustle and bustle.
I'm deeply happy and grateful to have finally visited this wonderful religious spot. That being said, my cousin and I took pictures of each other. I'm not the type of person who wants to be photographed, but this time is an exception.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now