Going alone and enjoying solitude in Taoist Temple

“But solitude comes in different varieties. What’s waiting for you might be a little unexpected.”
– Haruki Murakami | Kafka on the shore

Hey, everyone! How are you today? I hope you have a great day. Today, I’m going to share my experience with my recent trip to the Taoist Temple in Cebu. I went to the temple all by myself because I want to experience the full serenity of the experience. True enough, this place really gives off a Zen kind of vibes perfect for calming your mind and heart. The only downside of going here alone is that no one can take pictures of you. Even the staffs in the temple are not allowed to take pictures of the visitors as they are busy guarding the insides of the temple.

1.png

The Cebu Taoist Temple is in Lahug, Cebu City and is well-known for their famous ritual, the climbing of 81 steps which represents the 81 chapters of Taoism scriptures. The locals practice this ritual every Wednesdays and Sundays as a way of worship and asking for blessings. I was not able to climb the 81 steps because I went there on a Monday afternoon and it was almost drizzling. Eventually, the rain started pouring so we all have to go inside the temple. It’s a rainy season now here in Cebu.

2(1).png
I climb the red stairs from the gate to what looks like a gazebo. Most visitors pause and take a break in this gazebo because another set of stairs awaits that will take us inside the temple. Visitors usually pose and take pictures in this area, marveling the overlooking view from the temple.
3(1).jpg
In the left corner of the first floor lies a small souvenir shop. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to take a photo of the shop because of the heavy rain. But inside, they sell good luck charms and statues intended for different purposes including health, prosperity, longevity, etc.
4.png

6.jpg
There are several red and orange koi fish under the water. It is believe that koi fish brings abundance and prosperity in Chinese culture.

5(1).jpg
There’s also a stage-like area with the name of the temple on the wall which I presumed is a place for gatherings. I remember going to temples occasionally when I was younger, usually on a Sunday. Temples usually serve vegetarian meals after the service.

7.jpg

RITUALS
Lighting of Incense
I had a chance to talk to one of the caretakers of the temple and asked what are the usual activities people do inside the temple. According to him, the most important thing to do is to pay respect to the Gods by lighting three incense and bow three times at the altar. No picture taking is allowed inside the sanctuary. The main altar is in the ground floor of the temple. There resides the Earth God of Wealth named Toh Tee Kong.

Jiaobei
Another famous ritual in Taoism practice is the use of a pair of kidney shaped wooden blocks to answer a yes or no question. This is known as jiaobei in Chinese. I did this ritual during my visit and ask some questions in the altar. Personally, I follow this ritual as a guide in decision making but logic and well thought of reasoning should still be kept in mind. One of the questions I asked was: will I be successful in my blogging career in Hive? As I drop the stones in the floor, I felt thrilled and excited for the answer. Thankfully, the stone landed with one half round and one flat position- it’s a yes. Fingers cross, manifesting for this to come true.
8.jpg
If you have serious questions about starting a business or making a huge life decision, you may also talk to the master inside the temple.

Wishing Well
When going to the Taoist Temple, make sure you have spare coins with you for the wishing well. This is located on the second floor of the temple. Some believe that the coin should pass inside the vases for your wish to come true. After throwing the coin, you must walk clockwise around the well to close the ritual.
9.jpg

So much of the rituals, its now time to leave. I took one last look at the temple before leaving. The intricate interior of the walls and ceilings speak so much of the Taoism culture. I wasn’t able to take much photos because of the rain but I hope to come back here again soon and take better photos. I went home inspired and full of new learnings about other cultures and religions. Maybe that’s what travelling does to people- it broadens our horizon and changes our way of thinking.

That’s all for today’s blog! Thank you so much for reading. Sending some love and light.

-JaneXOXO

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now