Eskihisar Village: Tracing My Childhood Traces

Hello friends. After a long and enjoyable Aegean trip, I returned home to Istanbul. The time spent on the road, discovering new places, taking photos and being in touch with nature was wonderful, but the end of every trip becomes more meaningful when you arrive home. The first thing I did as soon as I got home was to go to Gebze to see my family. I hadn’t seen my mother and father for about a month, so I set off towards them early in the morning.

IMG_0477.jpg

The place that always attracted me the most in Gebze, where I spent my childhood, is Eskihisar Village. As in the past, on this visit, after having breakfast, I headed to Eskihisar. I walked through the familiar streets of the village in pursuit of childhood memories that came to my mind.

IMG_0503.jpg

IMG_0501.jpg

Eskihisar is a place that attracts people with both its historical texture and nature. The moment I stepped into the village, the fresh air and birdsong that greeted me soothed my soul. My first stop was Eskihisar Castle, which I had visited many times as a child. The historical castle was still standing tall with its stone walls bearing the traces of centuries and its magnificence. When I looked from the towers of the castle, the deep blue waters of the Marmara Sea and the coast of Eskihisar stretched out. I took photos against this view, walked around the castle and rediscovered the traces of the past. Every corner was like a journey to my childhood.

IMG_0478.jpg

IMG_0475.jpg

IMG_0479.jpg

After my tour of the castle, I walked towards the beach. Eskihisar beach always refreshed me with the sound of the waves hitting the rocks and the cool breeze. Even though the years passed, the peace of this beach had not changed. As I walked along the beach, the sound of the waves hitting the shore reminded me of the summer evenings I spent here as a child. I sat on the coast of Eskihisar and enjoyed the sea, sipped my coffee and returned to my childhood once again in this place full of memories.

IMG_0497.jpg

IMG_0499.jpg

IMG_0496.jpg

This short but meaningful trip to Eskihisar relieved my longing for the past a little. The moments I spent at the foot of the historical castle and on the shore made me feel both the innocence of my childhood and the unique peace of Eskihisar again. I strongly recommend Eskihisar Village to those who want to escape the crowds of Istanbul and take a breather, to those who are looking for a place surrounded by history and in the arms of nature.

IMG_0495.jpg

IMG_0504.jpg

IMG_0505.jpg

IMG_0491.jpg

IMG_0493.jpg

IMG_0502.jpg

IMG_0500.jpg

IMG_0494.jpg

IMG_0484.jpg

IMG_0482.jpg

IMG_0481.jpg

IMG_0492.jpg

IMG_0486.jpg

IMG_0489.jpg

IMG_0490.jpg

IMG_0488.jpg

IMG_0485.jpg

IMG_0498.jpg

IMG_0476.jpg

If you like my photos and articles, please feel free to like and subscribe to me. As long as I have time, I will continue to visit and discover new places in this fast-paced time. I wish you all healthy and happy days.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center