Into The Realm Of Faith: Trekking to Brahmatal and Witnessing Lord Brahma's Temple

Whenever there were problems in life, then I went to the mountains. Mountains have always supported me to get out of bad times. Something similar happened this time too, due to a personal problem that was going on for two months, I was very upset and as usual I could not understand how to solve the problem, so I decided that my friend Pahad Only he who will walk near will solve this problem. So after packing my bags, I leave for 'Brahmatal'.

IMG_2056.jpgBrahmtal Trek: Mighty Trishul Peak Seen From Jhandi Top

I pack my tent, sleeping bag, mattress and some warm clothes in my rucksack and take a bus from Delhi to Uttarakhand. The distance by bus is 483 km which takes 12 hours to cover. At 10 in the morning I reach Lohajung where the height is 2347 meters. This is a small village which is the base camp of Brahmatal Trek. Now the bus comes here but earlier it could not come. I rent a dormitory in the village whose rent is Rs.300 per night. After roaming around the village throughout the day and having early dinner in the evening, I sleep in the dormitory.

IMG_2009.jpgLohajung Village: The base camp of Brahmtal trek

Next morning at 7 am I have breakfast and leave for Brahmatal trek. The distance from Lohajung to Brahmatal is 16 km and my target today is to set up a tent near the lake itself. I am here for the first time and I have absolutely no idea of the way. The trail is quite visible so I start walking uphill starting from the village. After about 4 km I meet a local person from whom I ask the way to 'Jhandi Top' then he tells that you have come on the wrong way, go back and go up from where the mud house was, then you will come to Jhandi Top Will reach on the way.

IMG_2015.jpgSunrise at Lohajung village

IMG_2017.jpgNanda ghunti peak seen from Lohajung village

After next 20 minutes I come on the right track. Going a little further, I cross a camp site and now the forest has started. Since it is November, traces of first snowfall can be seen here and there in the forest. After 3.5 hours I manage to reach Jhandi Top, there is no tourist or local on the way. Jhandi Top is the highest point of this trek, whose height is 3400 meters. The wind is very strong here and the view of 7000 meter high mountains from here is amazing. Such a huge form of such high mountains is seen from very few places.

IMG_2023.jpgMrithuni peak (6855m) view from Jhandi top

IMG_2025.jpgGigantic Tirshul peak (7132m)

IMG_2022.jpg

Total 88 mountain peaks are visible from Jhandi Top, following mountains are visible from here:

Peaks_01.jpg

Peaks_02.jpg

In the light of day all the mountains are visible as if saying “You are safe now, you do not need to be afraid and panic about anything. We are with you till the end. You have come to us, so leave everything to us, we will take care of it. You just enjoy this journey”. I felt courage and peace in every moment spent here. Once upon a time, I became very emotional thinking that whenever I fall alone, the mountains hold my hand and wipe my tears every time.

IMG_2355.jpg

After spending about half an hour here, I leave for my final destination which is 5 km away from here. From here there is descent till Brahmatal, there is snow on the footpath, I walk carefully and reach Brahmatal after 2 hours. There is little snow around the lake and there are many camps and trekkers here. I don't like crowd, so I finalize setting up a tent on the top of Brahmatal. Brahmatal top is another 2 km away from here, and I once again walk carrying my heavy rucksack on my shoulders.

IMG_2113.jpgThe Holy Lake: Brahmtal

IMG_2093.jpgI had set up camp on the top which is visible on the left of the ridge which is visible in front

Stopping on the way, I eat sweets and parathas that I brought with me. The top is situated at 3530 meters, this top provides amazing 360 degree view. I fall madly in love with the mountains visible from here. Come what may, I'll be camping here tonight. There is nobody here except me. The comfort of being alone in the strong and cool air and the company of the huge mountains is what I am feeling since this morning.

IMG_2155.jpgThe home in mountains

There is less space for the tent on the top, so I make a place for the tent by removing some stones from the ground and install the tent. First of all I lay the mattress in the tent, then the sleeping bag. Keeping the rucksack in the tent, I start enjoying the beautiful sunset outside. Seeing the setting sun, suddenly I remember my problems, to escape from which I came to this place. Today, at an altitude of 3430 meters, when the sun is setting behind the peak of Trishul Peak, I immediately realize that running away from problems will never lead to solutions. So, sitting in the arms of the mountains, I decide that first of all I will solve these problems by going back. Even the mountains listened to me and gave their consent in the form of pink clouds.

IMG_2303.jpgWhen pink skies grant you consent

At 7 pm I come to the tent, eat the parathas I brought with me and go to sleep. There was strong wind throughout the night due to which I get very late sleep. Waking up at 4 in the morning, I pack the tent and look at the mountain and say “thank you…now I am going home”. From here I reach Brahmatal where I visit the temple of Lord Brahma.

IMG_2095.jpgLord Brahma Temple

Lord Brahma is believed to have performed a fire sacrifice here 2000 years ago, and that is why this place has religious importance among the locals. Every year in winter thousands of devotees come here to worship and make offerings to Lord Brahma. I also go to the temple of Lord Brahma located here and after worshiping, start walking back on my way. I reach Jhandi Top where the horseman is taking the bags of tourists to Brahmatal and I see the mountains for the last time.

IMG_2123.jpgAnother 3500 meter top near to Brahmtal lake

IMG_2119.jpgThe campsite at Brahmtal

Picking up some speed from Jhandi Top, I start descending to Lohaganj where I reach before evening. After spending the night here, I take the bus the next day and come back to my home. This trip cost me $31. I cover 1016 km road distance and 36 km. Tracking done in which there was an elevation gain of 1372 meters.

IMG_2097.jpg

IMG_2236.jpgSeeing the moon in broad daylight is like seeing your lover in the gardens

After coming home I face my problems, it takes me some time to solve them but everything turns out fine. When everything is fine, I remember the conversation I had with Trishul Peak. Some journeys are life changing and this journey was one such.

Disclaimer: All photos are clicked by me with Canon 77d. Photos have been edited in Lightroom. The above English text has been originally translated from Hindi with the help of Google Translate. I am very happy and proudly say this entire post is AI free.

IMG_2118.jpgAnother beautiful view of Brahmtal lake

IMG_2020.jpgThe first camping site from base camp

IMG_2247.jpgSome sunset vibes

IMG_2248.jpgIt when I had some amazing talk with sun

IMG_2251.jpgWhen the rosy rays of the sun filled my tent in their arms

IMG_2425.jpg

IMG_2533.jpgThe next morning at sunrise, the clouds put their words in front of the mountains like this

IMG_2246.jpg

IMG_2490.jpgThis is how every evening in the villages of the Indian Himalayas

IMG_2557.jpg

IMG_2146.jpgThe high mountains seen from my tent window

IMG_2573.jpgA traditional Himalayan house

IMG_2359.jpgSome unknown lake seen from distance

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center