Up and down the Douro River . Porto.

So a liquid lunch made me feel like splashing out, not literally, but figuratively by parting with 15 euros on a small pleasure boat, a Rabelo Boat (old wine transport ship) up and down the Douro riverbank in Porto.

Lunchtime beer makes me either quite sleepy or quite adventurous.

_DSC3649.jpeg

At this moment in time it made me quite adventurous so to the water I took. Wearing the fucking silly pirate hat made of cardboard that Captain Pugwash was handing out.

_DSC3650.jpeg

Sticking my elbows out in the queue made sure I got right at the front, (if I was female I would kinda like be one of those "soccer moms") I wasn't parting with my hard earned cash to sit at the back with the great unwashed and be photo bombed by those god damn instasnappergram types.

_DSC3640.jpeg

_DSC3644.jpeg

We were not alone it was like an armada , it was good to be on the corsair leading the others into battle

_DSC3639.jpeg

I lie, it was a gentle sail up and down a short stretch of water and lasted an hour, there was a stilted commentary sometimes in Portuguese sometimes in English, why was I the only one on the boat who after every interesting "fact" gave a rousing "oohaaarrrgh" in my best pirate voice?
I couldn't resist it.

_DSC3648.jpeg

I blame the lunchtime beer.

_DSC3635.jpeg

_DSC3645.jpeg

_DSC3655.jpeg

_DSC3656.jpeg

_DSC3646.jpeg

I thought it was a floating visit to six bridges, but I wasn't counting, even to this day I don't remember six bridges. Perhaps I got on the wrong boat.

_DSC3653.jpeg

_DSC3654.jpeg

It was interesting, I learn't that Porto is on one side of the river and another place Vila Nova de Gaia on the other side,

_DSC3652.jpeg

_DSC3651.jpeg

_DSC3663.jpeg

_DSC3664.jpeg

_DSC3666.jpeg

I loved the worn out colours of the closely cobbled together buildings in Gaia.

ç@grindle (1).png

Thanks for visiting my page, I am pleased to make your acquaintance. this is Stephen aka, @grindle, happily retired, travelling the world snapping away. My weapon of choice is currently a Nikon Z6(2). Unless stated all images are shot by me, all text is mine based on various info sources. NOT AI generated. If you like my blog, it would be very much appreciated if you upvote and follow me. Also, please feel free to drop a comment.

@Grindle.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
35 Comments