Just Turned 18 πŸ’‹

1.png

When I was a kid I used to look forward to my birthday every year. However, as I become older, I realize that a birthday is just you getting another year older. This year marked the end of my childhood and the beginning of my adulthood. It was traditionally thought that the year you turned 18 was a year of growth and progress. I felt pressured by the thought of it because it comes with a lot of responsibility and that I should make my own decision. In the Philippines, a debut is a traditional Filipino celebration of a teenage woman's 18th birthday. I'm not a big admirer of debuts because I don't like being the center of attention and just thinking of wearing a gown and applying make-up makes me feel self-conscious.

2.png

During my Birthday Celebration, I am happy that I was able to celebrate the beginning of my chapter in the way that I want. My big family and I were the only ones gathered, and they made my day extra memorable. My mother, sister, and I went to the grocery the day before the celebration to plan and to shop for food. The next day, we celebrated my birthday at Tubod Flowing Water Resort. We wrapped the Lumpia, made Nachos and Spaghetti; cooked Garlic Butter Shrimp, Fried Chicken, and Pork Afritada. We prepared all the food in our house and cooked it very early in the morning. We arrived at the resort after we are done with all the preparation of 5 dishes. You know, every important or big celebration in a Filipino household, there has to be a β€œWhole Lechon Baboy”. While waiting for my mother's family to come, I assist my mother and sister in designing the cottage. When I watched them arrived, I realized how grateful I am to have such a big and happy family. A big family can put on an event, and I don't have to worry about the number of people attending because my family is already large. When there are 18 candles in the debut, there are 18 amazing women who are my aunts and cousins. When there are 18 dances, I also have 18 gentleman relatives around, who are my cousins and uncles.

3.png


1.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

2.jpg

It was all worth the exhaustion after the celebration. We stayed two days and one night at Tubod Flowing Water Resort. They have five swimming pools, 2 pools are really coming from Natural Spring Water. We all had a great time in those, especially the kids who like the water park and pool slides. The young gentlemen also had fun playing basketball. The rooms are very comfortable, as is the ambiance. I didn't realize it was already dark while I was swimming, and we were doing night swimming in the resort, while my uncles and aunties were having chikas (gossip), drinking, and eating. We celebrated Mother's Day on the last day of our vacation and took advantage of our last day at the resort by swimming and sliding in the pool. We discover that there is a monkey near the entrance of the resort. It's in a cage, we noticed that the monkey had a wound and we fed the monkey some bread, lumpia, and kropek. We took some pictures with the family when it was time for us to return home.

4.png

5.png

279796440_283870727175974_3079389997551978171_n.jpg

I would like to express my appreciation to Auntie Cherryl for sponsoring the venue, Auntie Sol for having bought the cake, Mamai Rhea for the 2k cash sponsor, Clyde for designing the Tarp, Uncle JohnRei, and Auntie Sheila for the tarpaulin printing, and most especially to my sister Rich from @lakwatserangthik , who has been thinking about my birthday since the beginning and has prepared the event, as well as my mother and siblings who have always been supportive. I am forever grateful for your unconditional support, that day would not have been as memorable or possible without you all.

I never believed that 18th birthday is important because it is just simply another year for me, but you guys made it special. Your presence was the best gift, and thank you for making my birthday so memorable, enjoyable and wonderful.

I couldn't believe that I am already legally and officially a young adult now. I am hopeful that my new chapter would shower me with goodness and great opportunities that come in my adult life.

So, how about you? Are you looking forward to turning eighteen? What are your plans? How did it go if you have already turned 18?


received_137894164908613.jpg

π™π™ƒπ˜Όπ™‰π™†π™Ž π™π™Šπ™ π™π™€π˜Όπ˜Ώπ™„π™‰π™‚ π™ˆπ™” π˜½π™‡π™Šπ™‚! β™₯ β™₯ β™₯

She is shy at first, but when you get to know her, she easily gets along with your vibe. She is a go-with-the-flow by the current of the river flow. Traveling throughout the world inspires her to work hard in order to achieve her goals. Feel free to comment on her blog and share your thoughts and reactions. I hope you enjoy it for it will give her motivation to write.

Minasan, Arigatou gozaimasu!
(Thank you, everyone!) 😊

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center