The Skinny Pancake: My first crepe experience

IMG20231022090020.jpg


Even before we traveled to Burlington, VT, I had already started to do some research about places we could visit. I'm a bit of a nerd like that. Don't get me wrong, I'm all about spontaneity, but I also like having a lay of the land and knowing what some of the must visit places are. As I mentioned in this post, we visited one of those places.

Just like the Burlington Greenway sits at the top of most scenic places in Vermont, The Skinny Pancake has made several lists of must eat breakfast places in the state. It's a small regional chain that focuses on organic and farm to table ingredients like many of the places in Burlington.

IMG20231022084304.jpg

IMG20231022084308.jpg


It was an easy decision to visit there because the location in downtown Burlington was right across the street from our hotel. It literally took us less than five minutes to walk there. They have a really quaint outdoor area that you can see here, but due to the weather and the time of year, it was pretty vacant.

IMG20231022084430.jpg

IMG20231022084435.jpg


That wasn't the case on the inside though, the place was bustling with activity and @mrsbozz and were lucky to find a small two top table that we could sit at. If you have read my other posts, you know that I despise this new trend of paying with a QR code. Thankfully, The Skinny Pancake had a twist on that which I was quite fond of.

To say that The Skinny Pancake isn't your traditional restaurant would be an understatement. To order you had two options, you could either stand in queue at the counter you see above, or you could order from your table on the website. We chose the second option even though there wasn't much of a line at the counter. By the time we left though, there was quite a long one.

20231022_084443.jpg

20231022_084555.jpg


Our interaction with the wait staff was actually quite limited. Just around the corner from us was a small drink station that was set up as a self serve sort of thing. In that respect, the Skinny Pancake felt more like a fast food joint than a proper restaurant. Thankfully, the food eliminated any misconceptions about that.

IMG20231022090026.jpg


I've mentioned this before, but Vermont is pretty well known for their cheese. They have a sharp cheddar recipe (or variations on it) that are used across the state. You would be hard pressed to find a place that doesn't have at least one dish on it that uses Vermont Cheddar.

We aren't usually in the habit of getting a starter or appetizer for breakfast, but on this occasion we decided to make an exception. We got an order of the deep fried cheese curds and they were absolutely delicious. While I must admit, the photo above is pretty good, it doesn't even do justice to how crispy the breading was and how creamy the cheese was on the inside.

IMG20231022090015.jpg


True to form, @mrsbozz got a savory crepe and I went for a sweet crepe. I'm definitely the one with a sweet tooth in the family, where she could give or take sweets and she craves salty indulgences.

She got a ham and Cabot Vermont cheddar crepe. It came with a small fresh side salad on the side. Like I said in the title, this was my first time ever having crepes and I wasn't quite sure what to expect. I've heard of them before, and as the name of the place suggests, I knew they were sort of a skinny pancake, but I still wasn't sure what I was getting into.

IMG20231022090034.jpg

IMG20231022090040.jpg


This was my sweet crepe dish. Instead of laying the crepe out flat, they rolled it into a bit of a flower shape and then they put a blueberry compote over it and served it with whipped cream around the edges. It was delicious. I didn't mind the bite I had of @mrsbozz' too. I'm still a bit on the fence about crepes. There was a bit of a rubbery texture that I wasn't quite expecting.

The flavors were good though and I would definitely visit this place again.

I definitely liked my dish better than my wife's, but that is probably to be expected since I am a sugar fiend.

I forgot to mention, the main reason I liked their order method was because like a fast food restaurant, you had to pay before you got your food. That made it less likely that someone would pull the old dine and dash on them.

I certainly recommend The Skinny Pancake. I would likely skip the location in the airport, but if you get the chance to visit the one in downtown Burlington or Stowe, I highly recommend it.

As for crepes, I didn't hate them, but if given the choice, I would rather have a nice fat omelet.


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


All pictures/screenshots taken by myself or @mrsbozz unless otherwise sourced

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
33 Comments