Maker's Mark Distillery a Wednesday Walk

IMG20230402101315.jpg


This past weekend my wife and I got to take one of the most beautiful walks I have been on in quite some time. We were visiting Louisville for Spring Break and we decided to head down to Loretto, KY to visit the Maker's Mark Bourbon Distillery.

There are countless distilleries we could have toured down in Kentucky, but as I was doing some research something kept drawing me back to the Star Hill Farms which is the home of Maker's Mark.

IMG20230402100815.jpg


As I said, the property of the distillery is absolutely stunning and there is a good chance I will be using pictures from this location for many months to come here on Hive. I was resizing the photos this morning and realized we took over 300 photos on this trip.

IMG20230402100821.jpg


It's a bit of a walk from the parking lot to the welcome center, but it was a beautiful day, so we didn't really mind. The welcome center is undergoing some renovations, so we didn't spend a lot of time there. We basically checked in for our tour and then spent some time outside. At $18 a piece, the tour was really affordable.

IMG20230402101239.jpg


This was a section of the welcome center that was actually open. We found that displays like this are quite typical down along the bourbon trail. I have a couple of shots from various distilleries that are similar to this one.

IMG20230402101311.jpg


This plaque sits on a patio that overlooks the property and the shot that I used to open this post.

20230402_101511.jpg


@mrsbozz flexing her selfie skills with this shot! I have to admit, while I like Maker's Mark, I wouldn't have considered it one of my favorite bourbons. After this trip though, it is now right up there at the top of my list!

IMG20230402101313.jpg


The walk down to the main part of the facility is like you are taking a step back in time. It's pretty awesome.

IMG20230402103511.jpg


You can see the channel here where the limestone water flows down from the spring fed lake that is on the property.

IMG20230402110045.jpg


This is a shot looking back up towards the welcome center that is up on the hill.

IMG20230402103858.jpg


The paths and landscaping in this place are just stunning. I can't really even put into words just how beautiful it was. I can only imagine what it looks like at the height of Spring, Summer when everything is in full bloom. @mrsbozz and I were already impressed with how green the lawn was already compared to ours up in Michigan.

IMG20230402110925.jpg


Part of me wonders if many photographers come here for photo shoots. I don't even know if they allow that, but I could totally see getting special occasion photos taken here if you are a fan of bourbon or just beautiful scenery.

IMG20230402120356.jpg


Finally, I am going to leave you with this photo. You better believe I will be writing more posts about this location. I didn't even show you the inside of the buildings yet or the process they use to make their delicious bourbon.

Be sure to check back tomorrow as I talk some more about our trip to Maker's Mark!


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


All pictures/screenshots taken by myself or @mrsbozz unless otherwise sourced

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now