My RE&E Journey in Auz & Te Waipounamu: Day 26, An Antarctic Adventure

It was my last day in New Zealand. My first visit to the south island has been nothing short of spectacular. Adventure in every turn, and not only because I'm driving on the other side here. The people have starred, backed by amazing scenery and curious critters.

IMG_5116.jpeg

It all started with coffee, eggs and rashers on the balcony. The Chateau on the Park is perfectly located for roaming the town or blasting into the countryside. But today's roaming required a visit to a chemist, and the nearest one was in a mall.

That's been a minor issue here. I've popped into a few malls in this trip, and none of them had a map or guide at the entrances. Sure, I could probably find it on the mall's web page, but why? KISS, people.

IMG_5144.jpeg

In my search for the chemist, I came across this. The people were having a grand time posing in front of marquees inside. Outside, there were people dressed up as Star Wars characters that you could get a photo with, and if compelled, make a donation to Dementia research. I hope they had a successful day.

IMG_5192.jpeg

With the right medicines in hand, I made off for the International Antarctic Centre. It's a fun place with lots of tactile exhibits and displays, all intended to convey the vast diversity of our seventh continent. I passed on the snow tractor ride, but did take on the severe storm adventure room. This picture was taken before we were blasted by high winds and much, much colder conditions.

IMG_5167.jpeg

As I walked back to my hotel, I passed this hangar. Now I know! No surprise, really. It's a convenient access point. Australia has historically claimed the largest portion of Antarctica at 42%, and there's a treaty that all countries will work together for research activities. In reality, those things have little enforceability beyond cooperation. China and Russia have been accelerating their activities while the U. S. has been cutting back.

IMG_5193.jpeg

The cargo plane outside was interesting. Not the landing gear that is adaptable for tire or skid plate implementation. I just hope they don't damage any unsuspecting critters when they hop in and out down there.

IMG_5191.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now