Trip to Cádiz, the silver cup [Eng][Esp]




ironpagebreak.png


Good day community

The itinerary through the southern part of the European continent took me to visit some towns and cities bathed by the Atlantic Ocean in the Autonomous Community of Andalusia. The city of Cadiz was presented as a pending subject for me since I had never been in this beautiful, white and bright city. Located in a bay in the shape of a waning moon joined by arms of land, the city welcomed me by receiving me through a walled entrance and a white marble structure called La Puerta de Tierra. Walking through it I could see the peculiar shape of this city since it seemed to be a sum of small cities that merged to become this provincial capital. Its history gave signs of its importance as a port in the ocean since strategically this area is at the entrance of the Strait of Gibraltar that connects with the Mediterranean. Civilizations such as the Phoenician or the Roman were those that promoted the growth and settlement of the town because it was a strategic military, economic and social point that continued to be so throughout the centuries. From the walled area I could see the peculiar shape, giving me clues as to how I was going to visit the town, taking into account the parts I could guess from this specific point.


El itinerario por la zona sur del continente europeo me llevo a conocer algunas villas y ciudades bañadas por el Océano Atlántico en la Comunidad Autónoma de Andalucía, la ciudad de Cádiz se presentaba como una asignatura pendiente para mí ya que nunca había estado en esta preciosa, blanca y luminosa ciudad. Situada en una bahía en forma de luna menguante unida por brazos de tierra la ciudad me daba la bienvenida recibiéndome por una entrada amurallada y la con una estructura blanca de mármol llamada La Puerta de Tierra. Recorriéndola pude fijarme en la forma tan peculiar de esta ciudad ya que parecía ser una suma de pequeñas ciudades que se fusionaban para convertirse en esta capital de provincia. Su historia daba señales de su importancia como puerto en el océano ya que estratégicamente esta zona esta en la entrada del estrecho de Gibraltar que comunica con el mas Mediterráneo. Civilizaciones como la fenicia o la romana fueron las que impulsaron el crecimiento y asentamiento de la villa por ser un punto estratégico militar, económico y social que siguió siéndolo a lo largo del paso de los siglos. Desde la zona amurallada pude observar la forma tan peculiar dándome pistas de cómo iba a realizar la visita a la villa teniendo en cuenta las partes que podía adivinar desde este punto concreto.



ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


I walked down to the city centre until I reached the seafront with a long promenade on a narrow strip that connected to an island that is also part of this bay and the city. Walking through this area, with the city on one side and the beach and ocean on the other, I was able to get a more precise view and capture what Cadiz was going to present to me on this trip. As I usually do on all my trips, getting in touch with the local people, getting to know their idiosyncrasies and customs and making some friends is one of my objectives in these circumstances. I stopped for a drink in one of the cafes located in front of the beach and some locals told me stories about the city, they also gave me clues about what I could visit and where I should go to explore it without missing a detail.


Fui bajando hasta el centro de la ciudad hasta llegar a su zona marítima con un gran paseo en una franja estrecha que comunicaba con una isla que también forma parte de esta bahía y de la ciudad. Caminando por esta zona a un lado la ciudad y a otra la playa y el océano pude tener una visión más precisa y captar lo que Cádiz me iba a presentar en este viaje. Como suelo hacer en todos mis viajes contactar con la gente del lugar, conocer su idiosincrasia y costumbres y entablar algunas amistades es uno de mis objetivos en estas circunstancias. Pare a tomar algo en una de las cafeterías situadas enfrente de la playa y algunos vecinos de la zona me contaron historias sobre la ciudad, también me dieron pistas de que podía visitar y por donde debía de ir para recorrerla sin perder detalle.


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png

The main avenue showed me the magnitude of the city, allowing me to see the most important points, the town hall and the city centre, which would take me to see the different areas of the city. I arrived at the port area and observed the great movement of goods there and also as a destination for some transatlantic ships that made their tourist routes and that docked in the city as an obligatory stopover. The streets were a hive of movement and life in a continuous flow from one area to another. Then I arrived at the bay of San Fernando, another part of the city that merges and that showed me the capacity and economic power of the city with its large shipyards, both military and civilian. There was a lot of movement of trucks, containers and ships entering and leaving the bay.

La avenida principal me enseñaba la magnitud de la ciudad dejándome ver los puntos más importantes, ayuntamiento y centro de la ciudad que me llevarían a conocer las distintas zonas de la urbe. Llegue a la zona portuaria y observe el gran movimiento que en ella había de mercancías y también como punto de destino de algunos barcos trasatlánticos que hacían sus rutas turísticas y que atracaban en la ciudad como escala obligada. Las calles eran un hervidero de movimiento y vida en un continuo fluir de unas zonas a otras. Luego llegue a la bahía de san Fernando, otra parte de la ciudad que se fusiona y que me enseño la capacidad y la potencia económica de la urbe con sus grandes astilleros, tanto militares como civiles. Había mucho movimiento de camiones, de contenedores y de buques entrando y saliendo de la bahía.


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png

I arrived at the cathedral square and an arch, called the Rose Arch, linked the city to the square where the white church was located. That architecture made me see the mixture of different styles that it fused when it was built. Located in front of the beach facing the ocean, its white color with its characteristic rounded dome could be seen throughout that area of the promenade. I went in to visit it and noticed its cross shape, also that it was dedicated to the most venerated virgin called “the Immaculate Conception”. From the outside it seemed to me a classic example of the architecture and cultural influence of this area of Europe, its neoclassical and baroque style.

Llegue a la plaza de la catedral y un arco, Llamado de la rosa, enlazaba la ciudad con la plaza donde se ubicaba la blanca iglesia. Aquella arquitectura me hacía ver la mezcla de diferentes estilos que fusionaba cuando se construyo. Situada enfrente de la playa enfrente al océano su blanco color con su cúpula característica redondeada se dejaba notar en toda aquella zona de paseo marítimo. Entre a visitarla y me fije en su forma de cruz, también que estaba dedicada a la virgen más venerada llamada “la Inmaculada Concepción”. Desde la parte exterior me parecía un ejemplo clásico de la arquitectura y la influencia cultural de esta zona de Europa, su estilo neoclásico y barroco.


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png

Later, I went to a street market where I could see the local crafts and enjoy watching the artisans working on their works. The colour, the hustle and bustle of people entertained me and I spent a good time on this street full of stalls. I was able to talk to some of these artisans who were kind enough to explain to me how they worked on their pieces and where the ideas and meaning of these local crafts came from.

Más tarde entre en un mercadillo donde pude ver la artesanía local y recrearme contemplando como aquellos artesanos trabajaban en sus obras. El colorido, la algarabía y el movimiento de gente que había me entretenía y pase un buen rato por esta calle llena de puestos. Pude hablar con algunos de estos artesanos que tuvieron a bien explicarme como trabajaban en sus piezas y de donde procedían las ideas y el sentido de estas obras de artesanía local.


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


The white and bright city of Cadiz showed me all its potential as the southernmost city in Europe, in the waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Today I share this experience with all of you in the #worldmappin project in which I participate, recording my experience on the world map. I extend an invitation to you to visit the beautiful places that I present to you. Greetings friends.

La blanca y luminosa ciudad de Cádiz me enseño todo su potencial como ciudad situada más al sur de Europa, en aguas del océano atlántico. Comparto hoy esta experiencia con todos ustedes en el proyecto #worldmappin en el cual participo dejando constancia de mi experiencia en el mapa mundial. Les extiendo una invitación para visitar los bonitos lugares que les presento. Saludos amigos


ironpagebreak.png


ironpagebreak.png


CategoríaPhototalent
AjustesISO-100 f/8 1/100s
CámaraNikon D7100 - Olympus E410 y Kodak Z
LenteNikkor or Olympus
LocalizaciónSpain



ironpagebreak.png



oscarps qw.png


Image ©oscarps. All Rights Reserved.
Original content by @oscarps


P6120310 - copia - copia.jpg


oscarps.png

Photographic works made in RAW format.

Images edited and converted to JPG format with Photoshop CC by @oscarps

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center