3D Printing a DNA Model

DNA Printing.jpg
Image Source: Personal Photo

There are several DNA double helix molecule models available on Thingiverse. The model I 3D printed was posted by user Hello18. The license this user put their model under is the least restrictive Creative Commons license (CC-BY).

DNA Printing-display.jpg
Image Source: Personal Photo

The entire print took around three hours to complete with the same settings I use for other prints. A little over 8 meters of 1.75 mm filament was consumed.

DNA Printing1.jpg
Image Source: Personal Photo

There were no recommended print settings for the model on Thingiverse. I was able to get by with just a skirt and 20% infill. If I had to print this again I would probably use a brim and at least 60% infill.

DNA Printing2.jpg
Image Source: Personal Photo

This wasn't my first attempt at printing this model. I tried earlier using the sample Tronxy filament that came with the 3D printer but its brittle characteristic was a problem. During the second attempt using Hatchbox red filament the nozzle got clogged after printing the base. The nozzle just needed to be cleaned.

DNA Printing3.jpg
Image Source: Personal Photo

DNA Printing4.jpg
Image Source: Personal Photo

DNA Printing5.jpg
Image Source: Personal Photo

DNA Printing6.jpg
Image Source: Personal Photo

It turned out to be worth the effort. It's a nice model.

My Thingiverse account: https://www.thingiverse.com/holovision/designs
My Thangs account: https://thangs.com/Holovision
3D printing community on Hive: created/hive-103035

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency