The Dead of Night


Source

Lay me down gently,
For I have been sleepless a long time;
I had lain on my bed, half asleep and half awake -
Yet, a peaceful night of slumber has evaded me for a while;
And now all I want to do is close my eyes.

Been restless for years;
There is peace and comfort in my bed -
But that comes at a price too high;
My tossing and turning keep me up for hours on end,
And then all I want is to drift off to sleep -
Still, I lie awake in the dark.

It can't be helped;
Everyone wakes in the morning and rests at night,
Here I am reluctant to see the light of day,
The night feels livelier and comforting;
Wish I could feel the same in the mornings -
But it never happens.

While the world goes to sleep, I'm wide awake;
The dead of night is when I feel alive,
Morning lights don't bring any comfort to me -
I struggled time and time again -
Only to be more miserable than before;
Yet the nights are my sanctuary.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center