Oh Home!


Source

I ran, I ran and I ran through the dark forest
Shoving past everything in sight, my legs not giving up;
The cold numbs me, slows me down,
But no stopping now -
Within my grasp is what I long for.

The wet dirt beneath my feet,
In the soothing cold of the earth I dug my heels;
Apprehensive to move forward - but I can't remain still,
No looking back -
The darkness has me in its wrap.

My heart thunders, hands clammy, the shivers in my spine,
The endless tremors I feel - not for the fear of the dangers ahead of me;
But for the excitement; the unknown holds all the thrill -
It's not fear I feel.

Even with the surrounding darkness, I can see,
The ever-so-familiar forest in my range of sight;
Should I be afraid of the dark, but I'm not -
I feel right at home, the place where I belong
For the darkness has been my confidante - always.

The dark doesn't give me hope, it doesn't lie
Nor whispers false promises to my ears -
It bares itself to me just as it is; no façade nor mask
For the dark may not pull me up, but doesn't break me down either.

The darkness looms over me; blankets me
It keeps me sane - strange, I know;
Others say it is terrifying and I find it endearing,
The comfort it gave me was absent in light -
For the light played tricks while the dark remained precise.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center