Night and Day ~ Poetry

pexels-photo-6868084.jpeg

Jerferson Gomes

It is taking too long,
Longer than I expected,
Expected to see you come here,
Here is where we called home,
Home that we built with sweat,
The sweat of our labor and love,
Love that made us blind on weakness,
Weakness that doesn't matter,
Matters now that we are apart,
Apart from circumstances we could control,
Controlled but we weren't tough enough,
Enough to keep this love alive.

My darkest days have come,
But you weren't here to share,
Cheered away like a prodigal,
A lover who went away to lavish,
What we spent sweat and blood to build,
My night time of travails,
Your shoulder could not pillow my aches,
Rather it hurt badly with no one to turn to,
My solitude and dark times,
Only the shadow of the dark mind,
Stood bye till dawn,
This I am proud about,
I didn't let the dark time last a lifetime.

Seeing you this morning,
Moaning with heavy tears,
When my mourning has ended,
I could stand tall and look into your eyes,
The only one thing I saw was deceit,
Like Delilah to Samson,
You have come again to swap my joy,
To take away my comfort with you,
On a journey of no return,
Maybe I have loved you beyond reasoning,
I won't fall again,
No now and ever will,
As I walked past you at dawn,
I left you in the night time where you belong,
Until my day love appears,
I have short the door of love against you.

20230213_131916_0001.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center